![]() |
force out appeal
ASA RS 1, Force Out:
"On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred." Some examples, please. |
I think this is an example:
Bases loaded, two outs. Batter hits a ball in the gap that scores 2, but R2 misses third on the way to the plate. BR is thrown out at 2nd. Defense also appeals the missed base. R2 is out, run does not score. But, the preceding runner does score because both the third and fourth outs were timing plays. vs. Bases loaded, two outs. Batter hits a ball in the gap for a clean double, but R2 misses third on the way to the plate. Defense appeals the missed base. R2 is out, run does not score. In this case though, the out on R2 is also a force play which means the preceding runner does not score either. |
-- No one on. Base hit to the infield. The runner beats the throw but uses the white portion of the bag. The defense must appeal this. If, at the time of the appeal, the runner has already returned to 1B, the BR is safe.
-- Bases loaded, 1 out. Ball hit to F9 who throws to F3 for a |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Interestingly enough, I found another ASA/NCAA rules difference. I guess I learned two things today. In NCAA, the appeal of a missed forced base is treated as a force out, even if the batter/runner was put out or the force otherwise removed. NCAA 12.26.7 |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Altor: You are correct in your second play but incorrect in your first play. No runs score. See NFHS Softball R9-S1-A1d and e. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr:
The OP is ASA, not NFHS. |
Quote:
There was a case play IIRC (or maybe a test question), that read as follows: R1 on 3rd, R2 on second, R1 on first, with 2 outs. B6 his a ball into the corner and advances all the way to home plate. R2 missed third base. The defense properly appealed the missed base. Ruling: R2 is out on a force out, and no runs score. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00am. |