![]() |
force out appeal
ASA RS 1, Force Out:
"On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred." Some examples, please. |
I think this is an example:
Bases loaded, two outs. Batter hits a ball in the gap that scores 2, but R2 misses third on the way to the plate. BR is thrown out at 2nd. Defense also appeals the missed base. R2 is out, run does not score. But, the preceding runner does score because both the third and fourth outs were timing plays. vs. Bases loaded, two outs. Batter hits a ball in the gap for a clean double, but R2 misses third on the way to the plate. Defense appeals the missed base. R2 is out, run does not score. In this case though, the out on R2 is also a force play which means the preceding runner does not score either. |
-- No one on. Base hit to the infield. The runner beats the throw but uses the white portion of the bag. The defense must appeal this. If, at the time of the appeal, the runner has already returned to 1B, the BR is safe.
-- Bases loaded, 1 out. Ball hit to F9 who throws to F3 for a |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Interestingly enough, I found another ASA/NCAA rules difference. I guess I learned two things today. In NCAA, the appeal of a missed forced base is treated as a force out, even if the batter/runner was put out or the force otherwise removed. NCAA 12.26.7 |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Altor: You are correct in your second play but incorrect in your first play. No runs score. See NFHS Softball R9-S1-A1d and e. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr:
The OP is ASA, not NFHS. |
Quote:
There was a case play IIRC (or maybe a test question), that read as follows: R1 on 3rd, R2 on second, R1 on first, with 2 outs. B6 his a ball into the corner and advances all the way to home plate. R2 missed third base. The defense properly appealed the missed base. Ruling: R2 is out on a force out, and no runs score. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In other words, ASA considers an appeal of a missed base to which a runner was forced to be a force out if the force is in effect at the time of the appeal. And NFHS considers an appeal of a missed base to which a runner was forced to be a force out if the force was in effect at the time of the miss. The NFHS choice raises an interesting TWP. Runners on the corners with 1 out and R2 (a very poor base runner) stealing. BR hits it hard 5-3 and R2 aggressively turns at 2nd missing the base. F3 fires to second and a run down ensues. In the confusion R2 realize she can't make it back to second and instead scrambles toward first. After another unsuccessful rundown, R2 is now standing safely on first. The defensive coach then instructs his players to appeal that R2 missed second base. Does the run count? Does it matter if the coach knows that he's appealing the initial miss or the return? |
I would say if I'm not sure what they are appealing, I have to ask. This one I probably would not have asked and just honored the appeal. I've had coaches yell 'I'm making an appeal'. Coach what are you appealing?
I've also had a runner touch the white base before the ball arrived. No physical contact so no interference. Called her safe and the girl stood on the base with the ball. runner returned to 1st. Coach calls time and comes out to appeal she touched the white base. OK coach but she returned before you appealed. My 1st baseman stayed on the base because she was appealing. Sorry coach, she gave me no indication she was making an appeal before the runner returned. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33pm. |