The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2005, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
This happened yesterday. 13-18 rec game using ASA rules. I'm solo. Bases loaded. 1 out. Wind is howling and whipping through the field. Batter hits a pop up toward pitcher which would normally be an easy out. With ball at its apex I call IFF (coach later says he didn't hear, more on that later) and just then a huge gust of wind blows and the balls starts driting toward the 1st base line. I immediately add "if fair" and wait. Ball hits ground 3 feet fair starts rolling toward line and at the last second pitcher picks up ball on the line (fair). I point and verbalize again "IFF, batter out". Pitcher throws to catcher who tags girl comming home (for some reason). 3rd out. Coach screems they didn't hear IFF("doesn't matter, I said it. Maybe the wind?"). Then he says "you didn't call that until the pitcher picked up the ball". "That was the 2nd time I called it coach" says I. More grumbling but life goes on.

Should I have verbalized the IFF the 2nd time when pitcher picked up the ball? I was trying to be clear on a close call but maybe the verbalization the 2nd time wasn't proper mechanics. Ideas?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1