![]() |
Quote:
ASA does have an out call for flagrant contact. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Instead of the catcher, let's imagine this play at 3B. A runner from 2B intends to score on a base hit to LF. When rounding 3B, the runner intentionally runs over and through F5 who is waiting for the cutoff throw. There is no ASA rule support for an out or a dead ball. If the fielder has the ball when the crash is initiated by the runner, we have the RS #13 and 8-7-Q rule support. Otherwise, a strict interpretation of the rules would lead me to believe we play on, and eject at the conclusion of play. |
I think that rule then and pardon my French is bullshit. On what grounds can you eject if you don't have enough to have an out and a dead ball? The two should be inclusive to each other
|
Quote:
Trucking a player without the ball just because there is no other penalty in the ASA rules = unsportsmanlike conduct. Now, I don't disagree with you that perhaps there should be an additional penalty for a bush league move like this, but unless someone gives a rule cite, there simply isn't one. |
Quote:
They used to have an out in the old regime when MB & HP justified the call with a long stretch of rule interpretations. In 2009, I proposed a change which removed the words "has the ball" which would result in an INT ruling including an out for the runner who creates flagrant contact with a possible subsequent ejection. |
Of course I have heard of unsportsmanlike conduct......which is how you eject in any rule set. Maybe ASA should stop worrying about chin straps and silly things like that and get this rule right. Around here, it's fallen by the wayside anyway so it's nothing to me but I'd be bothered with an ejection but no out in this type of play.
|
Quote:
While ASA doesn't seem to have an out unless the defender has the ball and awaiting to tag the runner, is there anything that says the play would be dead immediately as in NFHS? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'll admit I don't know bc I don't do it anymore. But last time I did, chin straps was all anyone was concerned about. I found it very silly. |
Quote:
|
If you are working an asa game and the fielder does not have the ball you have no rule basis to call an out.
|
Quote:
It's a rule of equity. Simple as that. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34pm. |