The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Soccer
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2008, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Proper restart

Had a HS tourney yesterday. 4 boys games and 1 girls. Fed rules. I had a first and want your feedback. In game 1 at the whistle for a kick off defending mid runs into the center circle before the ball is touched by the offense. I whistle and call for a rekick. My partner, a grade 6 USSF and IHSA official -- very good, too, I might add -- states that since it was encroachment we would restart with an indirect from the spot of the encroachment. Makes sense, however, I have always just seen the kick retaken from center of the circle. Which is actually the proper restart. I guess thinking about it leads me to go with the IFK at the spot of infraction. Yay or Nay?
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2008, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 98
Send a message via Yahoo to PSidbury
Quote:
Originally Posted by refnrev
defending mid runs into the center circle before the ball is touched by the offense.
The ball had yet to be touched, so a kickoff did not occur and play was never initiated.
This might be an exercise in splitting hairs, but since play had not legally started, can it be encroachment?
I'm sure you could caution if constant infringement occurs, but again the kickoff and game has yet to start.
Wave the midfielder back and start the game with a kickoff per 8-3.

Thanks,
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 01, 2008, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by refnrev
Had a HS tourney yesterday. 4 boys games and 1 girls. Fed rules. I had a first and want your feedback. In game 1 at the whistle for a kick off defending mid runs into the center circle before the ball is touched by the offense. I whistle and call for a rekick. My partner, a grade 6 USSF and IHSA official -- very good, too, I might add -- states that since it was encroachment we would restart with an indirect from the spot of the encroachment. Makes sense, however, I have always just seen the kick retaken from center of the circle. Which is actually the proper restart. I guess thinking about it leads me to go with the IFK at the spot of infraction. Yay or Nay?


You might reconsider your opinion of your partner. He is dead wrong. The correct restart is a kick-off. There is no rule that permits an IFK following an encroachment situation in either NFHS or USSF play on any free kick other than a PK. If play is stopped or prevented from being restarted due to the infraction, the original kick is always retaken.

Your partner completely made up his own ruling in this case. That kind of officiating doesn't deserve your respect and admiration, no matter what his USSF grade or state certification level. Please don't emulate his lack of rules knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 03, 2008, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
By rule, a restart must be in accordance with the reason for the stoppage.
The scenerio stated in the original post was that the restart was a kickoff (following a goal or the start of a half). Since the restart had not properly taken place, the ball touched (moved forward) by the attacking team encroachment can not occur. The defending could be cautioned for Delaying the Restart, but not the encroachment. \

Again, the ball must be put into plat with a kick off.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 03:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaWVref
By rule, a restart must be in accordance with the reason for the stoppage.
The scenerio stated in the original post was that the restart was a kickoff (following a goal or the start of a half). Since the restart had not properly taken place, the ball touched (moved forward) by the attacking team encroachment can not occur. The defending could be cautioned for Delaying the Restart, but not the encroachment.

Again, the ball must be put into play with a kick off.
We agree that restarting with a kick-off is proper and that a caution may be given to a defender. It is only the reason for that caution that we debate.

What you wrote above (and I put in red) is not my understanding of how the USSF/FIFA or NFHS rule works, but I'll do some checking with the big boys and report back.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2008, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: n va
Posts: 36
don't have my hs rule book with me, but fifa lotg:

law 8, kick-off, infringements:

if the kicker touches the ball a second time ... .
for any other infringement of the kick-off procedure: the kick-off is retaken
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 07, 2008, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
The OP asked about NFHS. What is so difficult about the Penalty in Rule 8, IFK at the spot of the foul? Where is the NFHS rule citation that says no penalty for infractions when the ball is not in play?

BTW, the words encroachment and caution do not appear in Rule 8.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game restart question Big2Cat Basketball 4 Thu Feb 22, 2007 03:30pm
What's the restart? Jeff the Ref Basketball 8 Mon Dec 05, 2005 02:27am
NFHS Game Restart ? Gulf Coast Blue Softball 6 Wed Mar 12, 2003 01:56am
restart after fouls jdicqitdi Lacrosse 1 Tue Apr 23, 2002 01:05pm
Restart after 'T' shots from where? (HS) DaveC Basketball 3 Fri Jan 14, 2000 12:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1