![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]() What you wrote above (and I put in red) is not my understanding of how the USSF/FIFA or NFHS rule works, but I'll do some checking with the big boys and report back. ![]() |
|
|||
don't have my hs rule book with me, but fifa lotg:
law 8, kick-off, infringements: if the kicker touches the ball a second time ... . for any other infringement of the kick-off procedure: the kick-off is retaken |
|
|||
The OP asked about NFHS. What is so difficult about the Penalty in Rule 8, IFK at the spot of the foul? Where is the NFHS rule citation that says no penalty for infractions when the ball is not in play?
BTW, the words encroachment and caution do not appear in Rule 8.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
After my original post, and some hours of sleep after 5 high school games on one very very hot day I realized that my partner was in error. You could not have an IFK at the spot the defender ran into the circle as the restart since the ball was never properly put into play. Could you have PI if her kept doing it? Absolutely! But as for the proper restart I was right and partner was well intentioned but in error.
__________________
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
In short, Cecil, what is so difficult about this is the poor structure of Rule 8 leads to people such as yourself misreading the intent of the NFHS rulesmakers. Quote:
The difficulty here stems from the imprecise use of the term "foul" by the NFHS. The NFHS uses this word in a far too vague and general sense. Compare the NFHS definition with the USSF/FIFA definition. In order to reach to the conclusion that I have stated above, one must combine bits and pieces of numerous NFHS rules and play rulings. That is rather unfortunate. Quote:
![]() The words "encroachment" and "caution" may not appear in rule 8, but they certainly do appear in other areas of the NFHS rules book, including rule 12. |
|
|||
A good example of someone being penalized while the ball is not in play is when a player interferes with an opponent taking a throw-in. This player will receive a caution for unsporting behavior, but the opponent will not be awarded a free kick. The restart remains a throw-in.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
The point about "encroachment" and "caution" not being in Rule 8 is that they are not legitimate parts of this discussion unless we accept that the definition of encroachment includes occupying the 10 yard buffer prior to the kick; which is listed as a cautionable offense. The issue is how can an offense occur prior to an action if the action does not occur. IOW, if the kick was taken, the offense is penalized with the ball in play because the defender is apparently still within the 10 yards if he was there prior to the kick.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
"The act, by one or more defenders, of advancing within 10 yards of the ball prior to the taking of a free kick." If by encroaching the defenders prevent the attacking team from taking the kick, then an offense has occurred. It is at the discretion of the referee as to how to handle it. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Game restart question | Big2Cat | Basketball | 4 | Thu Feb 22, 2007 03:30pm |
What's the restart? | Jeff the Ref | Basketball | 8 | Mon Dec 05, 2005 02:27am |
NFHS Game Restart ? | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 6 | Wed Mar 12, 2003 01:56am |
restart after fouls | jdicqitdi | Lacrosse | 1 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 01:05pm |
Restart after 'T' shots from where? (HS) | DaveC | Basketball | 3 | Fri Jan 14, 2000 12:27pm |