The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Soccer

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 10:58am
Official Forum Member

Question

Local YMCA legaue decided to use four 10 minute quarters rather than two 20 minute halves to let more kids play without having to use lots of substituions during play. I'm officiating a few games and overseeing and evaluating the kids on all the fields. I've never used this system before. How do you resume play in the 2nd and 4th periods? KO, GK, DB, Throw In from midfield? What's the procedure? Thanks for the information. RR
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member

Our local rec program uses quarters. The 2nd and 4th period of play is restarted by the proper restart resulting from however play was stopped "near" the "determined" time.
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 01:03pm
Administrator

Quote:
Originally posted by refnrev
Local YMCA legaue decided to use four 10 minute quarters rather than two 20 minute halves to let more kids play without having to use lots of substituions during play. I'm officiating a few games and overseeing and evaluating the kids on all the fields. I've never used this system before. How do you resume play in the 2nd and 4th periods? KO, GK, DB, Throw In from midfield? What's the procedure? Thanks for the information. RR

If the YMCA league is using NFHS rules, the teams would change goals and the restart would be a kick off by the team would did not kick off to start the previous period.

MTD, Sr.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member