The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Rugby

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2006, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 185
Ref reversal

High School Girl's National Tournament, tight game in bad weather, where most of the match is played at midfield. I am touch judge. Ref mistakenly awards 22 m drop instead of 5 m scrum. Quick, and very, very deep, kick goes into touch...this results in a huge swing in field position and kicking team scores try a few plays later (final score 17-7, I think). This is a bang-bang sequence of events; before line-out I politely indicate to ref that award was incorrect and he admits his mistake but takes no corrective action. Here's my question...couldn't the ref negate the result of the drop and go back to 5 m scrum? Is this up to his or her discretion or do Laws prevent this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1