The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Hockey (https://forum.officiating.com/hockey/)
-   -   Interference Penalty right out of penalty box? (https://forum.officiating.com/hockey/99425-interference-penalty-right-out-penalty-box.html)

dinoian Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:05pm

Interference Penalty right out of penalty box?
 
I was recently at an NCAA college hockey game, where I was a bit confused by a call. A1 is coming out of the penalty box as the puck comes into the semicircle right outside the penalty boxes, and A1 plays it, but is immediately called for interference. Is the player coming out of the box not allowed to play the puck until he's outside of this semicircle? That's the only thing I can think of, as there were no other players in the area, but I'd just like to confirm it, and hear the logic behind this rule if it is one.

RefWEB Wed Mar 04, 2015 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dinoian (Post 956723)
I was recently at an NCAA college hockey game, where I was a bit confused by a call. A1 is coming out of the penalty box as the puck comes into the semicircle right outside the penalty boxes, and A1 plays it, but is immediately called for interference. Is the player coming out of the box not allowed to play the puck until he's outside of this semicircle? That's the only thing I can think of, as there were no other players in the area, but I'd just like to confirm it, and hear the logic behind this rule if it is one.

The semi circle has no bearing on the flow of play... It is simply the referees privileged area... While the referee is reporting to the timekeeper, no player is allowed inside that area

Not having seen the play, the only possibility may be that the player played the puck with one or both skates still inside the box. Players aren't eligible to touch the puck until they are completely on the ice.

dinoian Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefWEB (Post 956894)
Not having seen the play, the only possibility may be that the player played the puck with one or both skates still inside the box. Players aren't eligible to touch the puck until they are completely on the ice.

That's probably the case. Thanks for clearing it up!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1