The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Hockey

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2015, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: CT
Posts: 13
Interference Penalty right out of penalty box?

I was recently at an NCAA college hockey game, where I was a bit confused by a call. A1 is coming out of the penalty box as the puck comes into the semicircle right outside the penalty boxes, and A1 plays it, but is immediately called for interference. Is the player coming out of the box not allowed to play the puck until he's outside of this semicircle? That's the only thing I can think of, as there were no other players in the area, but I'd just like to confirm it, and hear the logic behind this rule if it is one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2015, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinoian View Post
I was recently at an NCAA college hockey game, where I was a bit confused by a call. A1 is coming out of the penalty box as the puck comes into the semicircle right outside the penalty boxes, and A1 plays it, but is immediately called for interference. Is the player coming out of the box not allowed to play the puck until he's outside of this semicircle? That's the only thing I can think of, as there were no other players in the area, but I'd just like to confirm it, and hear the logic behind this rule if it is one.
The semi circle has no bearing on the flow of play... It is simply the referees privileged area... While the referee is reporting to the timekeeper, no player is allowed inside that area

Not having seen the play, the only possibility may be that the player played the puck with one or both skates still inside the box. Players aren't eligible to touch the puck until they are completely on the ice.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2015, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: CT
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefWEB View Post
Not having seen the play, the only possibility may be that the player played the puck with one or both skates still inside the box. Players aren't eligible to touch the puck until they are completely on the ice.
That's probably the case. Thanks for clearing it up!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overlapped penalty: 25-yd penalty possible? great Football 7 Mon May 21, 2012 02:05pm
Any penalty here. Illini_Ref Football 18 Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:29pm
NF- Pass interference penalty spot?? kfo9494 Football 10 Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:49pm
Interference Penalty strike4 Softball 3 Mon Apr 18, 2005 02:26pm
(NCAA) Penalty for Offensive Pass Interference Ed Hickland Football 3 Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1