![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Why doesn't it matter who fouled first? Since Team A committed the first PF, isn't Team B going to get the option to accept or decline first? Thanks. |
|
|||
Assuming B declines (as it must, or A gets the ball back), then all you have is an interception by B, a foul by B during the return. A foul on the team with the ball doesn't result in an untimed down. Halftime, whether A accepts or declines.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
If B accepts, then A will accept and we have a double foul and the down is re-played with and untimed down. Quote:
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
The key element here is that Team B is NOT in final possession here, but Team A is (via the touchback). Thus 10-2-2 is not in effect (clean hands) due to Team A fouling before the final change of possession. Thus enforce 10-2-1b. Replay the down....untimed, of course.
RULE 10-2 ART. 1 . . . It is a double foul if both teams commit fouls, other than unsportsmanlike or nonplayer, during the same live-ball period in which: a. There is no change of team possession, unless all fouls committed by R are post-scrimmage kick fouls, or b. There is a change of team possession, and the team in possession at the end of the down fouls prior to final change of possession unless all fouls committed by R are post-scrimmage kick fouls, or |
|
|||
Actually, that's right. I glossed over the fact that A recovered. These fouls offset by rule.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Does the answer change if the fumble goes out the back of the endzone? In this case A never possesses the ball but would be the next to snap due to the touchback.
(Long time lurker, thanks for all the great info) |
|
|||
Quote:
In the case of two live ball fouls on the same play they do not necessarily offset. Example would be a hold by the offense during or before pass, B intercepts, commits a BIB on the run back and is downed. Two live ball fouls here, but if B declines A's hold, B keeps the ball after having BIB enforced. The timing of the live ball fouls here is only significant because there is a change of possesion, not because both happened on the same play. Extending this play where the clock runs out during the play: Lets say the clock runs out during Bs interception return. B would decline A's hold to keep the ball. But then A would decline B's BIB to end the half. If B accepts A's penalty (which they would not do), then A would accept B's and they would then offset resulting in a replay of the down. Last edited by whitehat; Mon Oct 27, 2014 at 04:02pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
On the OP, (after further review ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
170 - 35 (100-12 at half)...Starters start 2nd Half | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 52 | Mon Jan 11, 2010 09:47am |
4 fouls in the first half... | Rich | Basketball | 2 | Mon Jan 21, 2008 07:33am |
False Double Fouls and Simultaneous Fouls | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 14 | Fri Feb 13, 2004 08:48am |
Personal Fouls/Technical fouls | Coach T | Basketball | 6 | Thu Jan 30, 2003 09:35am |
When are technical fouls added to team fouls!? | Pirate | Basketball | 8 | Thu Jan 18, 2001 10:35am |