The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   PSK or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/98459-psk-not.html)

jcm1932x Tue Sep 30, 2014 08:19pm

PSK or not?
 
R 4/13 @ R40. K's scrimmage kick goes beyond neutral zone, R#2's helmet comes off, not a result of a foul, and he blocks K#76 during the kick @ R25. R#21 possesses kick @ R15 and returns to R45. PSK, R 1/10 @ R7 1/2 per rule 9.6.4.g.PENALTY, basic spot? or not PSK, K 4/28 @ K45 per rule 2.16.2.h, previous spot?

Reffing Rev. Tue Sep 30, 2014 09:31pm

Welcome...


You wouldn't penalize K for a foul by R, so your options are, PSK from R's 15 yard line, or 1st & 10 for K after a 15 yard penalty from the previous spot.

Assuming NFHS - This is Illegal Participation, the spot of the foul is the spot where the helmetless R player participated.

The kick crosses the LOS.
The foul happened beyond the LOS.
R is next to put the ball in play.

Therefore PSK but IP cannot be PSK...so it must be previous spot.

15 yards from the previous spot...1st & 10 for K.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1