![]() |
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
K's ball on their own 20, 4th and 10. During the snap K2 holds at the LOS, then K1 kicks the ball that goes beyond the LOS. While the ball is in the air, R1 clips K3 at K's 40, then R2 catches the ball at the 50 and runs to K's 35 and is tackled. Ruling: PSK applies. R can retain the ball if they decline K's penalty. If K's penalty is declined, it will be R's ball on R's 45. Now that is clearly the ruling and explaination the NF gave during in their NF Powerpoint Presentation. I agree that this is not covered in the NF Casebook, but if you have not noticed the NF made several mistakes with Rule 8-2-2 and many rulings surrounding that change. Even to the point they were emailing states and telling them, "we will have to address this in the next rulebook." The example you gave is clearly not a double foul (according to the NF). PSK is designed and interpreted as R getting the ball with "clean hands." K is considered to be giving up their right to the ball by kicking it away in the first place, so any penalty by K can be declined if PSK applies and can be declined by R and they can keep the ball. Not much different than and interception or any other turnover that happens with "clean hands." All I can do is pass this along. As I stated before this was in every single Rules Meeting I attended (which was 3 of them). Our clinicians have made this clear (2 of them made it clear tonight). This is not a double foul if R decided to decline K's penalty, not much different than many other situations. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|