![]() |
|
|||
Error on 2014 NFHS test
Just finished taking this year's exam. There was a multiple choice question for which the correct answer was not present. The question was:
A's ball first and ten from their own 10. Quarterback drops back into the end zone to pass and is tackled in the end zone by his facemask and fumbles. The ball rolls out of bounds at the 5 yard line. After penalty enforcement give down distance and yard line. This play is specifically covered in rule 10-4-7, which states that the goal line is the basic spot. Penalize 15 yards from the goal line to the 15, replay first down, so it's first and 5. That is not one of the choices. I suspect whoever wrote the question was using case play 10.3.1 Situation C as his correct answer. However this case ruling is clearly in error. Rule 10.3 only defines a loose ball play. Had this play happened in the field of play, then it would be a loose ball play penalized from the previous spot. But this is a special case where the loose ball originates from the end zone and is clearly spelled out it rule 10-4-7. According to 10.3.1 C it should be first and ten from the 25. This would be an incorrect enforcement of the rules. Comments from the more erudite among us? |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/98260-error-2014-nfhs-test.html
|
||||
Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
Confused | This thread | Refback | Wed Aug 06, 2014 11:03am |
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
2014 NFHS powerpoint | john5396 | Volleyball | 0 | Tue Jul 22, 2014 07:54am |
2014 NFHS rules now up on Amazon... | HLin NC | Football | 5 | Tue May 27, 2014 10:02am |
ASA 2014 test question 16 | Linknblue | Softball | 18 | Tue Jan 21, 2014 11:04am |
2014 NFHS PPT available | john5396 | Baseball | 2 | Thu Jan 16, 2014 01:00pm |
NFHS 2014 Softball Rules Changes | Tex | Softball | 6 | Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:19pm |