The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 26, 2003, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
With third and 8 from A's 35, A1 takes the snap and drops back to pass to A25. A2 holds at A30 before the pass. The pass is incomplete. If B accepts the penalty where is the ball spotted and what is the down?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 26, 2003, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 125
Quote:
With third and 8 from A's 35, A1 takes the snap and drops back to pass to A25. A2 holds at A30 before the pass. The pass is incomplete. If B accepts the penalty where is the ball spotted and what is the down?
Foul occurs during a loose ball play (the run preceding a legal forward pass), so the basic spot is the previous spot.

The foul is by the offense and behind the basic spot, making this the "one" in the "all but one" principle. Mark from the spot of the foul and replay the down; make it 3rd and 23 from the A20.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 26, 2003, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally posted by Warrenkicker
With third and 8 from A's 35, A1 takes the snap and drops back to pass to A25. A2 holds at A30 before the pass. The pass is incomplete. If B accepts the penalty where is the ball spotted and what is the down?
Loose ball play, basic spot is the A35. Spot of the foul is at the A30, which is behind the basic spot. Enforce from the spot of the foul, 10 yards. If the foul occured outside the inbounds lines, bring it in to the inbounds spot. It will be 3rd and 23 from the A 20. You didn't ask for it, but clock on the snap.
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2003, 11:51am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by Warrenkicker
With third and 8 from A's 35, A1 takes the snap and drops back to pass to A25. A2 holds at A30 before the pass. The pass is incomplete. If B accepts the penalty where is the ball spotted and what is the down?
Canadian Amateur Rules:

B accepting the hold places the ball on the A25, 3D/18 for Team A. (L10 PLS, DR)

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1