The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2003, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Question

IN NF OT. Period 1.

TEam A (offense) 3/G from the 4. A15 throws a legal pass intercepted by B38 at the (a) 2 (b) in the endzone.

In both plays, play and series is over. correct?

I am a bit confused with the rules (pg 74 NF rule book 5-1-2 last sentence) When the defensive team gains possesion of the ball, the down and series immediately end for the offensive team. If I am correct in my thinking then rule 8-1 where defense scores a saftey or TD could only happen if A was to fumble the ball in their end zone and B recovers.

Am I thinking correct or am I mixed up?

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2003, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 223
Correct. except A would have to recover the fumble in their end zone for a safety.
__________________
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2003, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
If I am correct in my thinking then rule 8-1 where defense scores a saftey or TD could only happen if A was to fumble the ball in their end zone and B recovers.
Any team that goes 90 yards backwards in 3 plays deserves to lose!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1