The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 06:55am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
No foul. The defense obviously adjusted their coverage to account for the late sub.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by ct1 View Post
no foul. The defense obviously adjusted their coverage to account for the late sub.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
It is still illegal formation and you would call it if they didn't have 7 on the ball wouldn't you?


Never understood why this was part of Art 5
a. At the snap, at least seven A players shall be on their line of scrimmage. since the foul is illegal numbering and I think this should be illegal formation.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight

Last edited by bigjohn; Tue Nov 05, 2013 at 12:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 01:27pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
It is still illegal formation and you would call it if they didn't have 7 on the ball wouldn't you?


Never understood why this was part of Art 5
a. At the snap, at least seven A players shall be on their line of scrimmage. since the foul is illegal numbering and I think this should be illegal formation.
This isn't an illegal formation. They have 7 on the line at the time of the snap. 5 interior lineman and the two outside receivers. I don't see any numbering issues either.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Rule 7
SECTION 2 FORMATION/POSITION, NUMBERING AND ACTION AT THE SNAP
ART. 1 . . . After the ball is marked ready for play, each player of A who participated
in the previous down and each substitute for A must have been,
momentarily, between the 9-yard marks, before the snap.

PENALTY: Illegal formation (Arts. 1, 2, 3) – (S19); illegal snap (Art. 4) – (S7-
19); illegal numbering (Art. 5) – (S19); illegal shift (Art. 6) – (S20); illegal
motion (Art. 7) – (S20); planned loose-ball infraction (Art. 8) – (S19) – 5 yards.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 02:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Still not going to get called unless B doesn't cover the receivers who never make it back inside the 9s.

Except maybe by overzealous new officials who don't know any better.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
.....Or by coaches or ex-coaches who have never sat in a rules meeting or clinic and discussed this rule and why it was written.

For if they had, they would have been told countless times (as mentioned prior) if the player is covered defensively, and it's obvious that it has not created a confusion for the defense, then the spirit of this rule has not been violated and we move on.

In this play, the defender adjusts to the receiver lined up in the slot, the defender covers him and releases him when he reads the potential for a fake on the initial pitch. (he does his job and stays home momentarily)

Unfortunately, a couple of his teammates did not realize the potential for either pitch and ended up inside the hashes leaving the near side zone to the camera vacant. They over-committed to the original receiver and the rest is history.

Last edited by asdf; Tue Nov 05, 2013 at 02:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 05:07pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
Rule 7
SECTION 2 FORMATION/POSITION, NUMBERING AND ACTION AT THE SNAP
ART. 1 . . . After the ball is marked ready for play, each player of A who participated
in the previous down and each substitute for A must have been,
momentarily, between the 9-yard marks, before the snap.

PENALTY: Illegal formation (Arts. 1, 2, 3) – (S19); illegal snap (Art. 4) – (S7-
19); illegal numbering (Art. 5) – (S19); illegal shift (Art. 6) – (S20); illegal
motion (Art. 7) – (S20); planned loose-ball infraction (Art. 8) – (S19) – 5 yards.
If you want to pick this nit, than just blow it dead for an illegal substitution, certainly don't wait for this to be a live ball foul and wait for the score to happens to bring it back. As I said earlier he was really close to the numbers(9 yd mark).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 05:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
If you want to pick this nit, than just blow it dead for an illegal substitution, certainly don't wait for this to be a live ball foul and wait for the score to happens to bring it back. As I said earlier he was really close to the numbers(9 yd mark).
Agreed.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Tue Nov 05, 2013 at 05:40pm. Reason: completely misread the markings
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul In the Post: One Continuous Action or Technical Foul? APG Basketball 10 Sat Feb 02, 2013 08:24pm
Common Shooting Foul Followed by a Technical Foul tophat67 Basketball 9 Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:57am
Can you just call a team foul if you are not sure who the foul is on? Diebler biggravy Basketball 18 Sun Dec 13, 2009 07:20pm
offensive foul, defensive foul or no call? thereluctantref Basketball 2 Mon Mar 13, 2006 01:12pm
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game BktBallRef Basketball 10 Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1