![]() |
Anyone got a foul?
|
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/wQ1W9d15ZBE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
|
Possibly illegal substitution, but both receivers on that side were covered.
|
Quote:
|
For FED rules, yeah, that's how we call it around here also... basically, if the defense sees the substitute and can get him covered, we let it go.
NCAA, you'd have to give the defense a match-up opportunity, which may or may not have caused the play clock to expire... |
Not in real life practice.
Peace |
No foul. The defense obviously adjusted their coverage to account for the late sub.
|
Quote:
|
It is still illegal formation and you would call it if they didn't have 7 on the ball wouldn't you?
Never understood why this was part of Art 5 a. At the snap, at least seven A players shall be on their line of scrimmage. since the foul is illegal numbering and I think this should be illegal formation. |
Quote:
|
Rule 7
SECTION 2 FORMATION/POSITION, NUMBERING AND ACTION AT THE SNAP ART. 1 . . . After the ball is marked ready for play, each player of A who participated in the previous down and each substitute for A must have been, momentarily, between the 9-yard marks, before the snap. PENALTY: Illegal formation (Arts. 1, 2, 3) – (S19); illegal snap (Art. 4) – (S7- 19); illegal numbering (Art. 5) – (S19); illegal shift (Art. 6) – (S20); illegal motion (Art. 7) – (S20); planned loose-ball infraction (Art. 8) – (S19) – 5 yards. |
Still not going to get called unless B doesn't cover the receivers who never make it back inside the 9s.
Except maybe by overzealous new officials who don't know any better. |
.....Or by coaches or ex-coaches who have never sat in a rules meeting or clinic and discussed this rule and why it was written.
For if they had, they would have been told countless times (as mentioned prior) if the player is covered defensively, and it's obvious that it has not created a confusion for the defense, then the spirit of this rule has not been violated and we move on. In this play, the defender adjusts to the receiver lined up in the slot, the defender covers him and releases him when he reads the potential for a fake on the initial pitch. (he does his job and stays home momentarily) Unfortunately, a couple of his teammates did not realize the potential for either pitch and ended up inside the hashes leaving the near side zone to the camera vacant. They over-committed to the original receiver and the rest is history. |
I see this as a requirement (inside the 9 yard mark), no different than everyone must be set for 1 full second before someone goes into motion or the ball is snapped. I notice that one is let go a good bit as well! :rolleyes:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm. |