The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   correct ball spot (https://forum.officiating.com/football/96356-correct-ball-spot.html)

raiderfan Tue Oct 22, 2013 07:50pm

correct ball spot
 
NFHS rules... during a TRY. A1 sweeps left and makes it into the end zone at the left pylon. However a flag at the 1 yd line for holding on A2. The umpire spots the ball on the 11 yd line at the left hash. A's coach requested the ball be spotted in the middle of the field. The umpire is adamant the correct and only spot is the left hash. I couldn't find anything in the rules book to support either spot.

goldsmi Wed Oct 23, 2013 04:29am

The request should be granted.


Case Book
4.3.6 SITUATION: Prior to the ready-for-play on a try, A’s captain requests the
ball be placed on the right side hash mark. A then deploys in a spread formation.
(a) A1 does not like the defensive coverage and requests a time-out; or (b) a
dead-ball foul occurs. The captain of A then asks the referee to move the ball to
a position midway between the uprights. RULING: The request is denied in (a)
and honored in (b). The captain may, in seven situations, ask that the ball be
placed at a certain point between the hash marks. However, once spotted the ball
may not be moved because of a second request. If a dead-ball foul occurs, or a
foul occurs during the down and the penalty is accepted, the captain again will be
given an opportunity to pick a spot for the replay. The request for placement of
the ball is permissible for a try or kickoff, after a safety, fair catch, awarded fair
catch, touchback, or the start of each series, using the 10-Yard Line Overtime
Procedure. (8-3-1)

bigjohn Wed Oct 23, 2013 09:53am

someone got a little confused!
:)

Adam Wed Oct 23, 2013 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by goldsmi (Post 908368)
The request should be granted.


Case Book
4.3.6 SITUATION: Prior to the ready-for-play on a try, A’s captain requests the
ball be placed on the right side hash mark. A then deploys in a spread formation.
(a) A1 does not like the defensive coverage and requests a time-out; or (b) a
dead-ball foul occurs. The captain of A then asks the referee to move the ball to
a position midway between the uprights. RULING: The request is denied in (a)
and honored in (b). The captain may, in seven situations, ask that the ball be
placed at a certain point between the hash marks. However, once spotted the ball
may not be moved because of a second request. If a dead-ball foul occurs, or a
foul occurs during the down and the penalty is accepted, the captain again will be
given an opportunity to pick a spot for the replay. The request for placement of
the ball is permissible for a try or kickoff, after a safety, fair catch, awarded fair
catch, touchback, or the start of each series, using the 10-Yard Line Overtime
Procedure.
(8-3-1)

Which of these situations apply to the OP?

maven Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 908404)
Which of these situations apply to the OP?

The first one.

Is this a trick question?

Suudy Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by goldsmi (Post 908368)
The request should be granted.


Case Book
4.3.6 SITUATION: Prior to the ready-for-play on a try, A’s captain requests the
ball be placed on the right side hash mark. A then deploys in a spread formation.
(a) A1 does not like the defensive coverage and requests a time-out; or (b) a
dead-ball foul occurs. The captain of A then asks the referee to move the ball to
a position midway between the uprights. RULING: The request is denied in (a)
and honored in (b). The captain may, in seven situations, ask that the ball be
placed at a certain point between the hash marks. However, once spotted the ball
may not be moved because of a second request. If a dead-ball foul occurs, or a
foul occurs during the down and the penalty is accepted, the captain again will be
given an opportunity to pick a spot for the replay. The request for placement of
the ball is permissible for a try or kickoff, after a safety, fair catch, awarded fair
catch, touchback, or the start of each series, using the 10-Yard Line Overtime
Procedure. (8-3-1)

I had to re-read the bolded part above several times. There was some "Eats, Shoots & Leaves" confusion on my part. My first several readings suggested that at the start of each series A could where where to put the ball in play. That last comma threw me off!

jTheUmp Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by goldsmi (Post 908368)
The request should be granted.


Case Book
4.3.6 SITUATION: Prior to the ready-for-play on a try, A’s captain requests the
ball be placed on the right side hash mark. A then deploys in a spread formation.
(a) A1 does not like the defensive coverage and requests a time-out; or (b) a
dead-ball foul occurs. The captain of A then asks the referee to move the ball to
a position midway between the uprights. RULING: The request is denied in (a)
and honored in (b). The captain may, in seven situations, ask that the ball be
placed at a certain point between the hash marks. However, once spotted the ball
may not be moved because of a second request. If a dead-ball foul occurs, or a
foul occurs during the down and the penalty is accepted, the captain again will be
given an opportunity to pick a spot for the replay.
The request for placement of
the ball is permissible for a try or kickoff, after a safety, fair catch, awarded fair
catch, touchback, or the start of each series, using the 10-Yard Line Overtime
Procedure. (8-3-1)

This situation.

bisonlj Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:07am

This foul happened during a running play that ended at the goal line. The foul happended behind the end of the run so the penalty is enforced from the spot of the foul (ABO). This not only includes the yard line, but also relation to the sideline. Go to the flag and mark off 10 yards. This leaves you in the side zone. Then read rule 4-3-5:
When the ball becomes dead in a side zone or is awarded to a team there or is left there by a penalty, play is resumed at the nearest hash mark.

It's usually acceptable for the U to march off this penalty at the hash rather than the side zone.

I'm surprised by how many officials don't realize previous spot and spot of the foul don't include both the yard line and relation to the sideline/hash.

maven Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:15pm

bison, for an ordinary down to be replayed, you'd be right.

But for a try, A can move the ball after a penalty, live- or dead-ball. 4-3-6a

MD Longhorn Wed Oct 23, 2013 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 908404)
Which of these situations apply to the OP?

"a try".

bisonlj Wed Oct 23, 2013 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 908444)
bison, for an ordinary down to be replayed, you'd be right.

But for a try, A can move the ball after a penalty, live- or dead-ball. 4-3-6a

I did not catch the OP was a try. Yes, then you can put the ball anywhere between the hashes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1