The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Steps on Player (https://forum.officiating.com/football/96328-steps-player.html)

golfdesigner Sun Oct 20, 2013 06:27am

Steps on Player
 
Does anyone have anything here? Please include rule references.
NFHS Rule Code
Situations:
A23 receives handoff; hole not very clear, several players laying on ground after having been blocked; A23 (a) steps on teammate who is laying facedown on the ground and dives forward to gain 5-yards before being tackled by B (b) steps on B58 who is laying facedown on the ground after having been legally blocked by A60 and dives forward to gain 5-yards before being tackled by B; (c) steps on back of B58 who is on hands and knees trying to get up after having been blocked by A60 and dives for 1st down.

In no case does A23 hurdle, as all players have more in contact with ground than one or both feet.

Thanks

JRutledge Sun Oct 20, 2013 07:46am

Nothing illegal in these situations. It is not illegal in itself to step on a teammate. And certainly not illegal if a player is down and they happen to step on them in the process. Now if a player was upright and they were used you might have a different issue. But in all cases you referenced these are basically piles where players either jump over these or on some level step on or over a teammate.

Peace

maven Sun Oct 20, 2013 08:52am

If the covering official judges that the contact is UNR, then you could have a PF.

But as described, I'd have nothing. Stepping on a player is not in itself a foul, whether he's prone or on hands and knees.

The farther "up" an opponent is, the more I'd be inclined to flag a PF. I doubt I'd ever flag it if the "stepee" is a teammate.

Robert Goodman Sun Oct 20, 2013 07:44pm

Anybody see the possibility of a 9-4-3e violation in case (a)? I don't see it with only the facts stated, but some add'l details might invite such a ruling.

maven Mon Oct 21, 2013 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 908131)
Anybody see the possibility of a 9-4-3e violation in case (a)? I don't see it with only the facts stated, but some add'l details might invite such a ruling.

No. That rule addresses intentionally contacting the opponent with the leg in the manner of kicking him, kneeing, leg-whipping, etc. It does not address stepping on an opponent.

That said, if I ruled that there was a PF here, I wouldn't need to split hairs between 9-4-3a and 9-4-3g.

Robert Goodman Mon Oct 21, 2013 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 908160)
No. That rule addresses intentionally contacting the opponent with the leg in the manner of kicking him, kneeing, leg-whipping, etc. It does not address stepping on an opponent.

That said, if I ruled that there was a PF here, I wouldn't need to split hairs between 9-4-3a and 9-4-3g.

Then they must've renumbered. I meant the one about standing on a teammate to gain some advantage.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1