![]() |
Out of Bounds
I'm having some issues in understanding when a player is Out of Bounds and whether the play clock stops or is wound. Even though it should be fairly simple
The rules states Rule 4-2-2 . . . The ball becomes dead and the down is ended: a. When a runner goes out of bounds, is held so his forward progress is stopped or allows any part of his person other than hand or foot to touch the ground. If A goes OOB's on his own, yes, the play is dead and the clock stops If A's forward progress is stopped inbounds by B and then forced OOB's, the play is dead and the clock winds If A, while running forward, get's forced OOB's by B, I'm being told to wind the clock. I don't think this is correct since he is OOB's by rule. Any thoughts on how to turn strong wills or am I wrong |
I don't know how any of us could be any more convincing than you.
Well, you could ask where the dead ball spot is. When they say it's the out of bounds spot, then you'll say, so why doesn't the out-of-bounds provision apply to timing too? |
Quote:
|
Knocked out forwards - clock stops.
Knocked out backwards - progress stopped in the field of play, wind it. And we are talking game clock not play clock, right. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48pm. |