The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 12, 2013, 07:02pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Neither team was in possession of the ball when the foul was committed, so 3-and-1 principles can't be applied, and this is a kick play, and the basic spot is the previous spot (50 yard line). Batting the ball from either end zone is a foul, so if the penalty is accepted team A/K may kick off from B/R 35 or decline the distance and kick from the 50. If the penalty is declined, possession is to B/R where it was muffed by B27, i.e. the 1 yard line. The choice to enforce or decline the penalty is not obvious.

The description doesn't read as if the impetus from the kickoff was spent before B27 muffed the ball, but if that's the case the result of the play would be a safety rather than B's ball at the 1.
That seems unnecessarily complicated.

I'd think that the logical answer would be that it's a safety.


Just giving the perspective of someone unfamiliar with the rule, not actually answering the question.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats the ruling? Jburt Basketball 13 Sat May 17, 2008 07:59am
NCAA Ruling Jay R Basketball 6 Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:42am
NCAA ruling? tpaul Football 4 Sun Nov 27, 2005 08:28pm
NCAA DH ruling JJ Baseball 3 Mon Jul 04, 2005 08:41am
NCAA ruling TriggerMN Basketball 5 Thu Nov 20, 2003 06:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1