The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Center Elligible (https://forum.officiating.com/football/96163-center-elligible.html)

maven Wed Sep 25, 2013 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 906020)
So, the snapper can only be eligible if he is on the end, and if he's wearing an eligible number. That's it, that's the list. NO need to worry about what down it is, or what the formation is (other than the fact that the snapper must be an uncovered end.)

??

Here's another possibility: ignore the numbering exception.

Put 5 ineligible numbers on the line, and put the snapper wearing an eligible number on one end. Put somebody else on the other end.

Legal formation, snapper eligible, any down or scrimmage formation.

JKinATL29 Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 906038)
Here's another possibility: ignore the numbering exception.

Exactly. Like HL said, don't make it harder than it needs to be.

Remember that the aforementioned requirements regarding the down and formation are for the exceptions to the numbering rule. That is, normally eligible numbers taking the place of one (or more) of the required 5 players numbered 50-79. If a team has 5 players numbered 50-79 on the LOS, then you don't have to worry about the exceptions.

So to address the swinging gate...if there are five players numbered 50-79 on the line of scrimmage between the ends (one of the ends being the snapper wearing a number 1-49 or 80-99), then the snapper is an eligible receiver.

If they don't have five players numbered 50-79 on the LOS, then the down and formation matter.

Robert Goodman Thu Sep 26, 2013 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 906027)
An end is "uncovered" by definition. If there's another player on the LOS between the sideline and the "end"... then that other player is the end.

And since "covered" isn't a term used in the rules, as a coach when I see or hear this term (which apparently started being used by officials in their PA explanations in the NFL), I keep thinking of it in the sense of "guarded by the defense". Confuses the heck out of me in coaching discussions.

Adam Thu Sep 26, 2013 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 906038)
Here's another possibility: ignore the numbering exception.

Put 5 ineligible numbers on the line, and put the snapper wearing an eligible number on one end. Put somebody else on the other end.

Legal formation, snapper eligible, any down or scrimmage formation.

Sorry, that's what I was getting it. I didn't mention the exception because it doesn't matter.

Adam Thu Sep 26, 2013 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 906027)
An end is "uncovered" by definition. If there's another player on the LOS between the sideline and the "end"... then that other player is the end.

Yeah, i debated whether to even include the word for that reason.

Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1