The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Washington team returns blocked field-goal (https://forum.officiating.com/football/96127-washington-team-returns-blocked-field-goal.html)

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:58am

e. When any loose ball:
1. Is simultaneously caught or recovered by opposing players.
2. Is on the ground motionless and no player attempts to secure possession.
3. Touches, or is touched by, anything inbounds other than a player, substitute, replaced player, a game official, the ground or authorized equipment. In this case the ball will be put in play in accordance with the procedure for an inadvertent whistle as in 4-2-3b.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905336)
A kick is a loose ball play--Kick end when
e. When any loose ball:
1. Is simultaneously caught or recovered by opposing players.
2. Is on the ground motionless and no player attempts to secure possession.

Yes, and you're being told by actual officials how to interpret that 2nd part. How long we wait to decide that "no player attempts" varies by situation. In THIS situation, we wait...

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:40pm

Wait until a coach comes on the field and tells them to pick it up and run?? Baloney!

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:45pm

You can cut and paste till the cows come home, but you are wrong (again).


Even the AD from the team that lost admitted that the ball was still live.

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:47pm

5 seconds?

JRutledge Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:48pm

I have no problem with the play. Recover the ball and none of this is an issue. There is a problem with players celebrating too soon and not finishing the play. Seems like a theme lately across football.

Peace

JRutledge Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905342)
5 seconds?

If that 5 seconds takes the other players to make a play on the ball.

Peace

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905342)
5 seconds?

Where does it say 4 is too many?

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:07pm

the way I read it is says ball is motionless and no player is making an attempt to recover it. That happened, blow it dead!

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905346)
the way I read it is says ball is motionless and no player is making an attempt to recover it. That happened, blow it dead!

I have a question - a real, honest question.

Is your intent in posting here to actually learn?

If not ... is your intent simply to show everyone by example how bad an official would be if he only read the rulebook and never went to any classes or clinics.

If not that... what is the intent of your continuing misinterpretation of rules and failure to listen when it's explained to you?

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:22pm

I am just saying that according to the rules as written, it should have been blown dead!
That is my intent. I think it is a bs way for those kids to lose a game. Now had a smart kid from K immediately picked up the ball and ran to the EZ with it! Good play, for the ball to lay there 5 seconds and no official to blow it dead is BS. Just my opinion.

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905346)
the way I read it is says ball is motionless and no player is making an attempt to recover it. That happened, blow it dead!


Reading the rule book doesn't make you an expert on rules application.

You've been given the interpretation three times, yet you act like my 11 year old nephew that refuses to admit he's wrong.

I'd be willing to bet that you would not take kindly to one of your players telling you that his blocking technique is the correct way over the way you and your peers teach it.

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905349)
I am just saying that according to the rules as written, it should have been blown dead!

And you've been repeatedly told by folks with many, many, many more years of experience officiating that you are wrong.

You just get a kick out of this......

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905349)
I am just saying that according to the rules as written, it should have been blown dead!
That is my intent.

So ... the 2nd one.

No offense, but it is not as easy as reading the book and stepping on the field. It takes practice, study, discussion to understand the little things - like "how long must the ball be at rest to blow it dead" in situations like this one. And THIS play is not at all what was meant by the rule you keep quoting. This rule is so that in those odd cases (picture a punt return) that the ball comes to rest without anyone around who might touch it and kill the play - we can kill the play. It is not meant to cover loose balls where players who might potentially advance that ball are standing near it.

If your intent is to actually understand the rules, please listen to those who spend time, effort, and money to learn how to interpret them.

If your intent is to simply stir things up, it grows very tiresome.

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:37pm

ART. 3 . . . No replaced player, substitute, coach, athletic trainer or other attendant shall hinder an opponent, touch the ball, influence the play or otherwise participate.

ART. 2 . . . The basic spot is the previous spot:
a. For a foul which occurs simultaneously with the snap or free kick.
b. For a foul which occurs during a loose ball play, as defined in 10-3-1

Pretty sure the coach influenced the play!!!!!!!

AHA!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1