The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Washington team returns blocked field-goal (https://forum.officiating.com/football/96127-washington-team-returns-blocked-field-goal.html)

tjones1 Tue Sep 17, 2013 08:40am

Washington team returns blocked field-goal
 
Ouch.

Y! SPORTS

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 09:06am

I can not believe there was no IW on that play! Great job, Officials!!! :)

CT1 Tue Sep 17, 2013 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905310)
I can not believe there was no IW on that play! Great job, Officials!!! :)

I'm surprised, since the R had his whistle in his mouth when the play started.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:27am

Fun play. Not sure anyone I know would have blown his whistle on that play, and R usually spits it out immediately upon a snap. R very very rarely has the play-killing whistle on a kick play, and would not be in the habit of needing to blow one, so not likely an IW here.

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:30am

I have seen them forget it was a try and blow id dead as soon as blocked.

ART. 7 . . . When any scrimmage kick is out of bounds between the goal lines
or becomes dead inbounds between the goal lines while no player is in possession, or inbounds anywhere while opponents are in joint possession, the ball is
awarded to R. Following an out-of-bounds kick, the ball is put in play at the
inbounds spot unless R chooses a spot of first touching.

I think we had a dead ball here!

There was more delay than the video shows, the ball laid there a bit longer.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:34am

Fair enough...

Although how can you say the ball laid there longer than it appears. It's video.

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:36am

Columbia River beats rival Skyview on bizarre last-second play (with video) | The Columbian

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:51am

Ah - that explains that.

Even a better play - I hope this one gets used for training.

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905321)

I think we had a dead ball here!


Nice try.

The crew knew it was still a live ball.

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:00am

Quote:

The football lay on the field for about five seconds. Then the River coaches began screaming.

"It's live! Pick it up!"

Dead ball:mad:

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905328)
Dead ball:mad:

Based on what interpretation?

This isn't a ball coming to rest beyond the NZ with nobody from the receiving team anywhere near the ball. (they are the only one who can advance the ball)

This is a ball behind the NZ that can be advanced by either team, or legally passed / kicked by the kicking team. There were plenty of K players within 3 yards of the ball, all eligible to pick it up and advance it.

Great job by the crew..... especially the guys who covered the goal line.

voiceoflg Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905328)
Dead ball:mad:

Help out a broadcaster here. How long does a live ball have to be untouched before it becomes dead?

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by voiceoflg (Post 905331)
Help out a broadcaster here. How long does a live ball have to be untouched before it becomes dead?

Until the covering official deems it dead.

The fact that it could have been recovered and advanced by either team (a receiving team player initially tried to recover it, but made a bad decision and didn't secure it) means you give it more time than when a kick beyond the NZ comes to rest.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by voiceoflg (Post 905331)
Help out a broadcaster here. How long does a live ball have to be untouched before it becomes dead?

It's not a matter of time. It's when it becomes obvious no one will.

Example - punted ball rolling to a rest, no receiving team players anywhere near the play, several kicking team players around the ball. When the ball stops and no one reaches over to touch it, kill the play. They can't just sit there looking at the ball to let time roll off the clock.

On THIS play - where either team can pick it up, you've got to wait until it's completely obvious that no one is going to pick it up. Like - the kicking team leaves the field like the receiving team did.

APG Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905328)
Dead ball:mad:

That's only a dead ball to the team on the losing end of this play.

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:58am

e. When any loose ball:
1. Is simultaneously caught or recovered by opposing players.
2. Is on the ground motionless and no player attempts to secure possession.
3. Touches, or is touched by, anything inbounds other than a player, substitute, replaced player, a game official, the ground or authorized equipment. In this case the ball will be put in play in accordance with the procedure for an inadvertent whistle as in 4-2-3b.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905336)
A kick is a loose ball play--Kick end when
e. When any loose ball:
1. Is simultaneously caught or recovered by opposing players.
2. Is on the ground motionless and no player attempts to secure possession.

Yes, and you're being told by actual officials how to interpret that 2nd part. How long we wait to decide that "no player attempts" varies by situation. In THIS situation, we wait...

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:40pm

Wait until a coach comes on the field and tells them to pick it up and run?? Baloney!

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:45pm

You can cut and paste till the cows come home, but you are wrong (again).


Even the AD from the team that lost admitted that the ball was still live.

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:47pm

5 seconds?

JRutledge Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:48pm

I have no problem with the play. Recover the ball and none of this is an issue. There is a problem with players celebrating too soon and not finishing the play. Seems like a theme lately across football.

Peace

JRutledge Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905342)
5 seconds?

If that 5 seconds takes the other players to make a play on the ball.

Peace

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905342)
5 seconds?

Where does it say 4 is too many?

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:07pm

the way I read it is says ball is motionless and no player is making an attempt to recover it. That happened, blow it dead!

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905346)
the way I read it is says ball is motionless and no player is making an attempt to recover it. That happened, blow it dead!

I have a question - a real, honest question.

Is your intent in posting here to actually learn?

If not ... is your intent simply to show everyone by example how bad an official would be if he only read the rulebook and never went to any classes or clinics.

If not that... what is the intent of your continuing misinterpretation of rules and failure to listen when it's explained to you?

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:22pm

I am just saying that according to the rules as written, it should have been blown dead!
That is my intent. I think it is a bs way for those kids to lose a game. Now had a smart kid from K immediately picked up the ball and ran to the EZ with it! Good play, for the ball to lay there 5 seconds and no official to blow it dead is BS. Just my opinion.

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905346)
the way I read it is says ball is motionless and no player is making an attempt to recover it. That happened, blow it dead!


Reading the rule book doesn't make you an expert on rules application.

You've been given the interpretation three times, yet you act like my 11 year old nephew that refuses to admit he's wrong.

I'd be willing to bet that you would not take kindly to one of your players telling you that his blocking technique is the correct way over the way you and your peers teach it.

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905349)
I am just saying that according to the rules as written, it should have been blown dead!

And you've been repeatedly told by folks with many, many, many more years of experience officiating that you are wrong.

You just get a kick out of this......

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905349)
I am just saying that according to the rules as written, it should have been blown dead!
That is my intent.

So ... the 2nd one.

No offense, but it is not as easy as reading the book and stepping on the field. It takes practice, study, discussion to understand the little things - like "how long must the ball be at rest to blow it dead" in situations like this one. And THIS play is not at all what was meant by the rule you keep quoting. This rule is so that in those odd cases (picture a punt return) that the ball comes to rest without anyone around who might touch it and kill the play - we can kill the play. It is not meant to cover loose balls where players who might potentially advance that ball are standing near it.

If your intent is to actually understand the rules, please listen to those who spend time, effort, and money to learn how to interpret them.

If your intent is to simply stir things up, it grows very tiresome.

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:37pm

ART. 3 . . . No replaced player, substitute, coach, athletic trainer or other attendant shall hinder an opponent, touch the ball, influence the play or otherwise participate.

ART. 2 . . . The basic spot is the previous spot:
a. For a foul which occurs simultaneously with the snap or free kick.
b. For a foul which occurs during a loose ball play, as defined in 10-3-1

Pretty sure the coach influenced the play!!!!!!!

AHA!!

BEAREF Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:40pm

I hope that this doesn't get to 10 pages like the thread on how the officials screwed Wisconsin

bigjohn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:41pm

pretty sure I just jumped the Shark, Bear!
:)

asdf Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905353)
ART. 3 . . . No replaced player, substitute, coach, athletic trainer or other attendant shall hinder an opponent, touch the ball, influence the play or otherwise participate.

ART. 2 . . . The basic spot is the previous spot:
a. For a foul which occurs simultaneously with the snap or free kick.
b. For a foul which occurs during a loose ball play, as defined in 10-3-1

Pretty sure the coach influenced the play!!!!!!!

AHA!!

Keep on throwing it against the wall.

Someday, you'll get one to stick.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905353)
ART. 3 . . . No replaced player, substitute, coach, athletic trainer or other attendant shall hinder an opponent, touch the ball, influence the play or otherwise participate.

ART. 2 . . . The basic spot is the previous spot:
a. For a foul which occurs simultaneously with the snap or free kick.
b. For a foul which occurs during a loose ball play, as defined in 10-3-1

Pretty sure the coach influenced the play!!!!!!!

AHA!!

Next time a coach calls a play, or asks for a time out, I'll invoke this rule for you. And with that, I'm done trying to help.

CT1 Tue Sep 17, 2013 01:51pm

Skyview coach Steve Kizer said, "We should have finished the play. That's the moral of the story."

You're so right, Coach.

SE Minnestoa Re Tue Sep 17, 2013 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905353)
ART. 3 . . . No replaced player, substitute, coach, athletic trainer or other attendant shall hinder an opponent, touch the ball, influence the play or otherwise participate.

ART. 2 . . . The basic spot is the previous spot:
a. For a foul which occurs simultaneously with the snap or free kick.
b. For a foul which occurs during a loose ball play, as defined in 10-3-1

Pretty sure the coach influenced the play!!!!!!!

AHA!!

ART. 1 . . . No coach, substitute, athletic trainer or other team attendant shall act in an unsportsmanlike manner once the game officials assume authority for the contest. Examples are, but not limited to:

b. Attempting to influence a decision by a game official.

And this one has never happened during a game without the coach being penalized. :D

JRutledge Tue Sep 17, 2013 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SE Minnestoa Re (Post 905362)
ART. 1 . . . No coach, substitute, athletic trainer or other team attendant shall act in an unsportsmanlike manner once the game officials assume authority for the contest. Examples are, but not limited to:

b. Attempting to influence a decision by a game official.

And this one has never happened during a game without the coach being penalized. :D

And I love the fact coaches will be so strict about rules they say we are ignoring, but if we were to penalize them for rules you listed above, they would insist we should "warn them" for their behavior. So coaches are often hypocritical about how rules they want us to enforce when it serves their sensiblities.

Peace

SamG Tue Sep 17, 2013 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905353)
ART. 3 . . . No replaced player, substitute, coach, athletic trainer or other attendant shall hinder an opponent, touch the ball, influence the play or otherwise participate.

ART. 2 . . . The basic spot is the previous spot:
a. For a foul which occurs simultaneously with the snap or free kick.
b. For a foul which occurs during a loose ball play, as defined in 10-3-1

Pretty sure the coach influenced the play!!!!!!!

AHA!!

I'm not even a ref and I can poke holes in that one...

So according to your interpretation, no coach can EVER yell instructions to a player? Not "block 43" or even "RUN" as a player is streaking down the sideline?

Keep trying. It's entertaining. :D

Welpe Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 905355)
pretty sure I just jumped the Shark, Bear!
:)

Well on that note...hey what's this button do here-


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1