The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   From another board (https://forum.officiating.com/football/9555-another-board.html)

Tbone Thu Jul 31, 2003 05:15pm

In the below play, since the foul happened before the change of team possession, doesn't R have to decline the penalty to keep possession (and their TD). My reasoning are the following rules refernces.

Rule 5-2-2 & 3

ART. 2 . . . When a foul occurs during a scrimmage down and before any change of team possession, and before a receiver is first to touch a scrimmage kick while it is beyond the neutral zone, the ball belongs to A after enforcement. The number of the next down is the same as that of the down during which the foul occurred unless penalty acceptance includes a first down or loss of down, or the enforcement or the advance results in a first down.

ART. 3 . . . When a foul occurs prior to a scrimmage down, or simultaneously with the snap, the number of the next down after enforcement is the same as the number established before the foul occurred, unless enforcement for a foul by B results in a first down.

FUND II.3 - If R is first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, a new series will be awarded the team in possession at end of the down, unless there was a foul before the kick crossed the expanded neutral zone and the penalty was accepted, or there was a double foul or there was an inadvertent whistle during the kick following the touching by R.



PLAY

"...K is illegally in motion at the snap. K's punt is caught by R at his 40 yard line and returned for a TD. TD stands and gets to have the IM penalty enforced on the try. Doesn't seem fair. We were discussing a possible solution that would allow the penalty to be enforced from the succeeding spot (try) only if (a.) it was a personal foul, or (b.) it occurs after the final change of possession.

Bob M. "


Mike Simonds Fri Aug 01, 2003 01:44pm

Okay, here is my answer.
 
My on the field answer is that K's foul should not be penalized because it took place after the change of possession. My reason: the intent of the rule is to penalize fouls by the defense. K was the offense when the ball was snapped and their penalty occurred at the snap. K became the defense after the interception. Therefore, the penalty for K's foul must be declined in order to allow R to keep their touchdown.

Hope we get some more replies on this one.

Mike Simonds Fri Aug 01, 2003 01:47pm

Oh my, I should check the rule book first.
 
Here is the answer:

Check out rule 10-5-1f & 8-2-2.

I stand corrected. R keeps their touchdown. Penalize K half the distance on R's try.

Tbone Fri Aug 01, 2003 03:54pm

Hey Mike, I know the new rule states this, but....
 
it doesn't mention anything about a change of team possession or the effect other rules have that say to do something else. I still think that if R accepts the penalty, then they replay the down.

Tbone Fri Aug 01, 2003 03:56pm

And,
 
Fouls simultaneous with the snap are enforced from the previous spot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1