The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 29, 2003, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
For the Fed. rule (HS, except for Texas), it is important to know that the "momentum exception" applies only to fumbles that are intercepted (i.e. caught out of the air), not fumbles that are recovered (i.e. already hit the ground).

For example, if B1 recovers a fumble "on the run" at his 2 yard line and his momentum carries him into his end zone, this is a safety, 2 pts. for A. If he were to have caught this ball out of the air, before it hits the ground, then B takes over at the 2 as per the momentum exception.

The momentum exception also applies to kicks caught (again, before they hit the ground) inside the 5, and interceptions of forward and backward passes inside the 5 where the original momentum takes the player into the end zone. In these cases, B gets the ball at the spot of the catch/interception.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1