The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 25, 2013, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Fed case books are notorious for implying incorrect things in their rulings. When they write those cases, they are typically trying to teach 1 concept and don't realize what they are implying in other parts of the case. Don't go looking for secondary rulings in Fed cases unless they are specifically stated in that case.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 25, 2013, 09:23pm
Judge of Lines
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 6
My point is that the case book only refers to a case where the team has already made a request, hence the sentence "...once spotted the ball
may not be moved because of a second request." The point of the case is that once the team picks a place, they're stuck with that place unless there is a dead-ball foul or replay of the down. I don't see any case book plays where the team's first request regarding the ball is denied just because the ball has already been placed placed/spotted.

If the RFP hasn't been blown and the team hasn't yet made a request, I have no reason not to honor their request and move the ball. However once they pick a spot, or the RFP is blown, they're playing the ball where it lies unless there is a dead-ball foul or replay of the down.
__________________
You say I missed that call...I prefer to think that it missed me.
----------
Any statements expressed here are solely my own and do not represent any organization of which I may be a member.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 26, 2013, 06:15am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKinGA29 View Post
If the RFP hasn't been blown and the team hasn't yet made a request, I have no reason not to honor their request and move the ball. However once they pick a spot, or the RFP is blown, they're playing the ball where it lies unless there is a dead-ball foul or replay of the down.
Makes perfect sense. I always delay my RPF on the try until the offense gets into the huddle or comes to the line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 29, 2013, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKinGA29 View Post

If the RFP hasn't been blown and the team hasn't yet made a request, I have no reason not to honor their request and move the ball. However once they pick a spot, or the RFP is blown, they're playing the ball where it lies unless there is a dead-ball foul or replay of the down.
Exactly!
__________________
"Because you can referee wrong, make a mistake, but what you can not do is create your own sense of justice and, even worse, invent a very personal application of the rules." Dutch legend (soccer coach) Johan Cruyff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1