![]() |
|
|||
|
The FED makes a distinction between 'spotting the ball' and RFP as evidenced in these unrelated Casebook cites:
*7.5.2 SITUATION G: In the last few seconds of a half, A1 completes a pass to A2 at B’s 20-yard line. The ball is properly spotted and the referee marks it ready for play and signals the clock to start. In the rush and confusion to stop the clock, A’s snapper and quarterback A1 are the only A players in legal position when the ball is snapped and legally “spiked” by A1. A foul for illegal formation occurs at the snap. 10.1.1 SITUATION A: Where is the ball spotted following penalty acceptance when it is snapped from the right-side hash mark and the run ends in the left-side zone and the foul is: (a) illegal motion by A1; or (b) holding by A1 in the middle of the field behind the end of the run; or (c) grasping the face mask/helmet opening by B1 in making the tackle? RULING: In (a), it is spotted at the right-side hash mark. In (b), it is spotted in the middle of the field since the enforcement spot was the spot of the foul. In (c), it is spotted at the left hash mark. It is reasonable to interpret that spotting the ball takes place prior to the RFP and is a separate activity. Last edited by goldsmi; Wed Apr 24, 2013 at 02:58pm. |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|