![]() |
|
|
|||
ART. 2 . . . The try begins when the ball is marked ready for play. It ends when:
a. B secures possession. b. It is apparent a drop kick or place kick will not score. c. The try is successful. d. The ball becomes dead for any other reason. Can I buy a new spot with a time out though???
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
Nope.
From the Casebook: 4.3.6 SITUATION: Prior to the ready-for-play on a try, A’s captain requests the ball be placed on the right side hash mark. A then deploys in a spread formation. (a) A1 does not like the defensive coverage and requests a time-out; or (b) a dead-ball foul occurs. The captain of A then asks the referee to move the ball to a position midway between the uprights. RULING: The request is denied in (a) and honored in (b). The captain may, in seven situations, ask that the ball be placed at a certain point between the hash marks. However, once spotted the ball may not be moved because of a second request. If a dead-ball foul occurs, or a foul occurs during the down and the penalty is accepted, the captain again will be given an opportunity to pick a spot for the replay. The request for placement of the ball is permissible for a try or kickoff, after a safety, fair catch, awarded fair catch, touchback, or the start of each series, using the 10-Yard Line Overtime Procedure. (8-3-1) |
|
|||
A good practice is to ask every time there is a choice of where the ball will be put into play from prior to the ready-fo-play.
Do not assume the ball will be in the middle of the field. As metioned prior, once the RTP has been sounded, the ball cannot be moved. I do not want to run into the case where a coach says he was not given a choice and the ready-for-play has sounded. Granted, most of the time the middle of the field will be ok. Just make sure by asking.
__________________
"Because you can referee wrong, make a mistake, but what you can not do is create your own sense of justice and, even worse, invent a very personal application of the rules." Dutch legend (soccer coach) Johan Cruyff |
|
|||
That's interesting. I don't recall seeing the hair's being split between the spotting of the ball and the RFP before, but of course the latter must occur after the former. So what's the rules justif'n for saying it can't be moved even before the RFP if it's been spotted?
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|