![]() |
4th and 4 from K's 35. K commits an illegal shift, ball snapped. K-15 punts ball then (a) while ball is in air R-10 holds at R's 31. R-34 catches ball at R's 15, runs back to R's 22. -OR-(b) R-34 catches ball at R's 15, runs back to R's 22 and during run back, R-65 holds at R's 27 -OR- (c) K-15 hesitates, takes 1 step to his left then punts the ball and R-84 holds K-25 at K's 40 BEFORE the punt is made
Do we have a double foul in situation (a) or (c)? The ruling of a double foul is that both teams committ fouls during same live ballsituation, but no change of possesion. There is clearly a change of possesion here. (a) is a PSK enforcement So how is this play enforced? What if R was to decline the ill shift. IS R's PSK foul in (a) considered before the final change of possesion In situation(b), this a running play foul (NO PSK) since it happened after possesion changed (end of the kick). The enforcement spot at the 22 correct? Is (c) considered a PSK enforcement? If it is not PSK, then is this where R can decline the ill shift, penalize for the hold, and keep the ball? Or is this a foul during a "loose ball play" it includes all the runs which preceed it? It happened on a kick play but BEFORE the kick happened. If is not becasue it was before the kick occured, how can your wing officials determine if it was before /after the kick. All I can find in the rules is that it happend before the kick ends. What if it happend before the kick happens? Or did NF intend it to be at anytime on a kick play before the kick happens? |
Good PSK questions.
(a) R can accept the penalty for K's foul. Double foul. Replay the down from the previous spot.
Or, (a) R can decline K's foul and have their penalty enforced from the end of the kick. R's ball 1st and 10 from R's 7 1/2 yard line. (c) Remember the definition for a loose ball play includes the action that precedes the kick. So the result of the play should be the same as R's two choices in (a). You are correct, (b) is just a normal penalty against R after the kick ended. R can decline K's foul and retain possession after their foul is penalized. |
Long questions require long answers
Answers
Situation A: 1) If the R captain accepts the K penalty, then the K captain will undoubtably accept the R penalty creating a "double foul" and the penalties will offset. 2) If the R captain declines the K penalty, then the K captain will undoubtably accept the R penalty, if this is the case then PSK applies. Since the kick ended at the R15, this becomes our new basic spot. The 10 yard holding penalty is enforced from the R15 (Half the distance applies) and the result of the play is 1st and 10 for R at the R7 1/2 yard line. Situation B: PSK is not applicable during this play because the R foul DID NOT OCCUR during the scrimmage kick, rather it occured after the scrimmage kick had ended. 1) If the R captain accepts the K penalty, then the K captain will undoubtably accept the R penalty creating a "double foul" and the penalties will offset. 2) If the R captain declines the K penalty, then the K captain will undoubtably accept the R penalty, if this is the case then the "All but one principal" applies. Since the foul occured during a running play the end of the run becomes our new basic spot. The 10 yard holding penalty is enforced from the R22 and the result of the play is 1st and 10 for R at the R12 yard line. Situation C: PSK is not applicable during this play because the R foul DID NOT OCCUR during the scrimmage kick, rather it occured prior to scrimmage kick. You however failed to give the result of the play. For this reason I will assume then that R7 fielded the ball and returned it for an apparent TD. 1) If the R captain accepts the K penalty, then the K captain will undoubtably accept the R penalty creating a "double foul" and the penalties will offset. 2) If the R captain declines the K penalty, then the K captain will undoubtably accept the R penalty, if this is the case then the "All but one principal" applies. Since the foul occured during a "loose ball play" the previous spot becomes the basic spot. The 10 yard holding penalty would be enforced from the previous spot and the result of the play would be 1st and 10 for K on the K45. I hope this helps |
PSK
The way I understand PSK is that the offense is giving up possession by punting. So this is an exception to the loose ball penalty enforcement rule and a slight modification to the double foul/change of possession/clean hands doctrine.
As long as the 4 requirements for PSK are met, R can retain possession of the ball when they decline K's foul and accept penalization of their foul. The 4 requirements for PSK are: R fouls on their side of the expanded neutral zone before the end of the kick (can be before or during the kick). K makes a legal scrimmage kick that crosses the neutral zone. The kick ends beyond the neutral zone (on R's side). R is in team possession at the end of the down. I think discussing these plays are good exercise. Hope I got it right... |
KWH can you check your (c) answer...
My understanding is that PSK would apply because the loose ball play (the kick) also includes the action that takes place prior to the kick...
Let me know what you think... I'll be back from my "lunch crunch" exercise class at the YMCA in about 2 hours. |
Mike, Thats not my understanding...
Quote:
My understanding is that your understanding is "incorrect"! PSK is not in effect BEFORE OR AFTER the scrimmage kick! The NFHS has stated that it may take 2 to 3 years to work the bug's out of PSK enforcment. The 2003 Rules book and 2003 Case Book wording(s) have conflicts and are confusing. 1) The 2003 rule book in 2-16-2g states "...during a scrimmage kick..." 2) The case book unfortunatly provides no help 3) The NFHS/Referee "FOOTBALL GUIDE 2003" which you should have (or will soon) recieved in the mail clears your play up on page 7 Play 11: I will reprint it for your convieniance: Play 11: Team K's ball, fourth and 10 from it's own 20 yardline. K1 muffs the snap, but gets off a legal kick that goes out of bounds at the 50 yard line. While the ball is loose on the muffed snap, R2 grabs but does not twist K3's facemask at K's 30 yardline. Ruling: PSK does not apply because the foul occured before the kick crossed the expanded neutral zone. If K accepts the five-yard penalty, it is enforced from the previous spot and results in fourth and five for K from it's own 25 yardline. Because the NFHS has written the rule this way it makes it different from the NCAA version. This fact along with the fact that the NFHS Rule Books wordings are "very grey" (to be kind) will make for 2003 a year to remember long meetings nights of discussion over a play that in reality happens 3 times in 1000 punts. I am also working on a "PSK Simplified" webpage. Check out the work in progress at: http://www.pfoa.us/index.asp?page=interp I hope this helps clear up the mud... -Kevin |
OK. so we have a rule that is confusing and contradicts itself. GREAT!!!!
My questions are this: How are we to determine if the foul occured before /after the ball was kicked? I know some will be very easy, but what about the one that happend on the LJ side of the formation. With LJ leaving on the snap and he looks over his shoulder and sees it, how can he determine when the ball was kicked? So PSK ONLY can occur while the ball is in the air from a kick. Before the kick and once R gains possesion (how ever it happens) PSK can not take place. I "assume" (uh oh)that when in doubt, it happened after??? the kick. Seems NF would have made it very easy and just said if the foul happens on a kick play but before the kick ended. |
Thanks gentlemen!
KWH brought up a good point. Under PSK the rule book says something like this: "during a scrimmage kick", not "during a scrimmage kick down".
Coach has a good point that I agree with: it would be much easier to enforce PSK if PSK rules applied from the start of the down to when the kick ends. Also, this interpretation fits in with the theory of loose ball plays and fouls during the loose ball period. Like for example, if A64 holds as QB A12 drops back to pass but before the pass is thrown. The loose ball play includes A12's run before the pass. Both of you have good points. I realize that further research is necessary. |
Look at the kicker
Quote:
[Edited by KWH on Jul 25th, 2003 at 08:08 PM] |
Yeah, I have to agree with you KWH.
http://www.gmcgriff.com/refonline/ww...ges/11807.html
This is a good post regarding the interpretation of the new PSK rule. To quote the post: "The interpretation is that PSK applies to fouls that occur after the kick has crossed the ENZ." This seems fairly consistent with the philosophy that K is giving up possession of the ball by kicking it. My first thought was why doesn't PSK apply at the actual beginning of the kick? For example, the kick begins as soon as the punter's or place kicker's foot strikes the ball. But then I realized that K can still catch and/or recover a scrimmage kick in or behind the neutral zone and advance. So the philosophy behind PSK is that once the kick travels beyond the expanded neutral zone (which allows for normal line play), then K has truly given up possession of the ball. So in summary, I would have to tip my cap to KWH for causing me to explore this issue more. Let me know if my understanding of the NF interpretation makes sense. |
The SIX (6) requirments for PSK
Quote:
Here is a little something that might help clear some of the water. While this may appear long it covers all the bases and hopefully will simplify PSK for some of you... The six things that must happen to invoke PSK enforcment: 1) The R foul occurred during a scrimmage kick that was not a PAT. For the purpose of NFHS PSK enforcement scrimmage kick is defined as only the period of time beginning with the kicked ball crossing the expanded neutral zone and when the kick ends. (2-16-2g and 10-4-3a) 2) "Clean Hands" must apply. Clean Hands for the purpose of NFHS PSK enforcement means simply that the ball crossed the expanded neutral zone prior to any R foul. Remember "Clean Hands" requirments begin with the snap and end when the kicked ball crosses the Expanded Neutral Zone. (2003 CASE BOOK, Page 3, Part 1 and 2003 Rule Book page 73) 3) The accepted foul must be committed by team R during the scrimmage kick, and before the scrimmage kick ends. (10-4-3) 4) The R foul occurred beyond the expanded neutral zone, during the scrimmage kick and before the scrimmage kick ends. (10-4-3c) 5) Team R must be in possession at the end of the down. Simplified this means Team R will be next to put the ball in play, and should not be confused with plays where Team K downs the football to end the play. In plays where Team K downs the football to end the play, Team K is "not in possession" by PSK definition! (10-4-3e) 6) The "scrimmage kick" must end beyond the neutral zone! (2-16-2g) If any one of the above six requirments do not apply, PSK is not used. However, if all of the above requirements are met, the accepted PSK foul is enforced from the PSK spot. Remember also, if the foul occurs behind the PSK spot (or basic spot) the "all but one" principal applies and the penalty is enforced from the spot of the foul. "Keep asking those questions. When we ask questions it make us all better officials." -Kevin |
thanks!!
Big thanks to Mike and Kevin for your input on this matter. I agree that it is good to discuss this, espically when NF seems to be up in the air about it as well.
YOu both have cleared it up for me and my crew! |
One final note on PSK
All of us must accept the fact that the 2003 Rule Books have some conflicts and are confusing in regards to PSK. Conflicts have happened before and they will happen again.
Somewhere this year one of your associations "rule guru wannbees" (all of you have a few) will read Rule 2-32-2 and swear that the NFHS has PSK all screwed up because (according to this rule) every R PSK foul occur's while the ball is still in Team K's possession. OR, they will read Rule 10-2-1b and argue that this rule conflicts with the PSK rule. The answer is actually very simple; For the purposes of Double Foul penalty enforcment (10-2-1b and 10-2-1c) Team Possession "technically" changes from K to R the moment the kicked ball crosses the ENZ. This is concept that allows PSK penalty enforcment to fit into NFHS enforcment provisions. If you beleive in this concept, then Rules 2-32-2, 10-2-1b, and PSK as a whole will fit in just fine and dandy. Perhaps the NFHS should consider adding Rule 2-32-3 that would state: 2-32-3; When a ball is put in play by scrimmage kick, team possession of a ball changes from K to R the moment the ball crosses the ENZ. I also have noticed that we all have the 2003 season less than a month away and we need to play the cards that we have been dealt... Peace -Kevin |
All they really had to do was to implement the NCAA definitions for PSK and the problem would have been solved before it became one. PSK is an exception to the rules of enforcement. It is an exception to the Offsetting fouls rule. That's the way it is for NCAA and that's the way the NF should have written it up.
With the retention of the double foul mentality, the NF seems to have forgot that this rule is supposed to be an exception. All I see is trouble because of rekicks and I for one hate kicks to begin with. If there is ever a chance for a injury or a foul missed because players are spread all over the field it will come during a kick play. Please NF, rewrite this before the first KO of 2003. I am big advocate of PSK but not as they have it written at this point. |
Theisey, I respectfully disagree...
Please do not be offended Theisey. I have the utmost respect for you and your postings on this site. We do however disagree on this issue.
I have address each of your statments individually and professionally. Quote:
|
Just some questions on Fed rules. Let me explain I have call NCAA for 21 years, never Fed but I would like to learn. I have
sent off for a Fed rule book. What is ENZ? What is a double foul? Is that like offseting fouls in NCAA? When does a scrimmage kick begin and end? Thanks. Bluduc |
If you know NCAA rules, you'll see that PSK is an exception.
Considering NF has used the previous spot for the enforcment spot on loose ball plays (and still is)"Except" for PSK. That by defintion, makes PSK an "Exception" under NF rules. No, I do not buy into the concept the team possession changes when the kicked ball passes the ENZ. I stated that PSK is an exception to the offsetting fouls rule. That is true for NCAA and that is what I think as a long time official of both codes, should have been applied to our NF version of PSK. I never said to eliminate double foul/offsetting fouls. I said that PSK should be an exception to that under NF rules. The way PSK is written for NF and as I see it being interpertated in this fourm, other forums and from some documentation I'm now starting to receive, a double foul while the status of the ball is a kick will result in offsetting fouls, a replay and that means a rekick. That is what I do not think is right and not the way PSK is handled under NCAA rules. I don't care about NFL rules as they can dance to whatever tune they want too. The PSK concept for NCAA is designed to allow team-B to keep the ball even though they fouled during scrimmage kick play. Team-A foul does not affect that. PSK concept for NF does not allow that when a team-K foul such as for six players on the LOS occurs coupled with a clip down field during the kick. If I may, I'll quote Jerry Diehl "since the kicking team has chosen to punt because if did not make the line to gain, the rationale was that the kicking team should not be able to retain possession of the ball in those situations." He should have stated that the situation is when team-R had fouled during the play while the ball was loose as a result of the kick. However as we all can see, they maintained that a team-K foul will offset this team-R foul. That's wrong and not keeping with the intent of PSK. The timing of the foul is also a wrong in concept and will be a problem for officials. By any chance did Oregon participate in the PSK experiment? I know KY did. The problem I have is at seasons end, all these rule inconsistencies could/should have been documented and forwared on up the chain of command to the committee so the rewording of the rules in every place required would be completed prior to printing. I read someplace where it was stated that it could take 2 or 3 seasons to work out the kinks in this rule. My contention is that the experimental seasons are to take care of that. The final rule wording put in place that makes the change easy to officiate. The rules committee failed to do that. |
Answers to Theisey
Quote:
|
I do not have any NF books yet, we don't get them until mid-August what I know about the NF version of PSK is from a few printed sources, press releases and forums like this.
The NF web site has updated info except for the rules revisions interpretation section. That still points to 2002 rules. The 2003 changes became public January 2003 and we still don't have offical interpretations yet? I don't even want to print how I feel about that. Now, let me quote one play from printed material I put a lot of faith in. It's a play from the 2003 Football Rules Differences Manual. I trust the authors and use their material quite frequently to prepare for both codes I work. All material is crosschecked and as I understand been validated with the rules chairmen of the appropriated codes. Tell me if you agree with it. Here's the play. Fourth and 10 on team K's 35 yardline. At the snap, K2 is illegally in motion. K1 punts. While ths kick is airborne and well beyond the line, R5 illegally blocks below the waist at team K's 45 yardline. The kick is caught is caught by R2 on his 30 and advanced to his 40. In my mind PSK should apply to both codes. Here's the NCAA ruling: If team R wishes to keep the ball and avoid offsetting fouls, they must decline K2's penalty..... the remainder of the words show where the foul is marched off from. Now here is the NFHS ruling: Because both teams fouled before a change of possession. the fouls offset and the down is replayed from team K's 35 yardline . I say that the NF has it wrong. The result should be the same as the NCAA ruling. If I read your response correctly, you think the result is the same as the NCAA. Others I've talked to besides the writers of this book are saying that there is a rules difference as it relates to what are double fouls or offsetting fouls. If you want to come out east and join my NF organization, I'd have no problem with working a game. We just might have some PSK problems, but other than that I see no other difficulties. |
Quote:
The objective of the NFHS rules makers is to maintain a simple and easy to understand book and if they start including exceptions they miss the mark. As for the double foul. Where possession actually changes determines the enforcement. For instance, is it equitable for K to commit a motion penalty and R to commit a PSK foul and have them offset? That could happen if team possession changes when the kick ends. |
time to jump in
Quote:
Give NF the cudos it needs for adding this in. The one where NF needs to really look at is the same play, but R5's block is BEFORE the kick happens. Now, K gave up the ball, but since it happened before it crossed the ENZ, now you get into the dbl foul, wipe out kick, replay down. Thanks for the spirited debate!! I think I just might have a handel on PSK. I have been reading, re-reading it ect... THANKS!!! |
Re: Answers to Theisey
Quote:
Hummmm????? I hope this was just a typo KWH. You see we Southern Or. boys experimented with the kicking team having at least 4 players each side of the kicker at the kick. |
One thing that was mentioned before that brings up a good point on this PSK and the ball having to clean the NZ and that concerns the LJ's mechanic. He is going to stay put until the ball crosses the NZ in case he has a flag on his side of the field to properly determins if it is PSK. That could lead to a bit of a problem on coverage upfield once it does cross.
|
Cowboy, nearly all NF games in my area are with four officials. The LJ starts off down field and the HL stays until the kicked ball crosses the NZ. Then he drifts on down. For him to stay another second shouldn't be a problem. At least I don't think it will be.
|
Quote:
Say about answering the NF questions by BluDuc. If anyone can give solid answers, it would be you. |
Quote:
Quote:
Not having called NCAA rules I just learned something. Yes, a double foul (NFHS 2-16-2b) would be equivalent to a offsetting fouls (NCAA 10-1-4); however, NCAA handles possession changes with exceptions -- Exception is verboten for NFHS. NFHS chooses to create rule sections (10-2-1 and 10-2-2) to address the same thing. Quote:
A scrimmage kick begins when the ball is legally kicked with the knee, lower leg or foot and ends when a player either gains possession or the ball becomes dead while not in player possession. Quote:
Hope this helps. |
Quote:
My thought is have the HL delay to assure the ENZ is cleared. If there is a delay by the kicker the LJ has all the territory behind the U to watch for illegal acts by R. One problem is LJ must know when the ball is kicked. There is a physics problem, that is, sound travels slower than light. The LJ hears the sound of the ball being kicked, if he can hear it at all. I would appreciate any ideas from others. |
Message to James Neil
Quote:
It was a typo James. Portland (like the rest of the state)required 4 players on each side of the kicker. I haven't seen any of thoses infamous "memo's" so I don't believe we are "experimenting" with any new rules this year. Good catch James and thank you. |
I'll give up that one play coach!
[QUOTE]Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
Quote:
I won't tell you how to officiate. That being said I would "SUGGEST" the following: If ever a timing issue occurs and it is not clear if the ball had crossed the line prior to the foul, "PERHAPS" you error in favor of the ball had already crossed the line... -Kevin |
Thamks Ed , that makes it clear now.
You are correct about NCAA and exceptions. ENZ is like the legal clipping zone under NCAA. 10 yds wide, 6 ydr. deep centered on the center of the off. formation. Another exception! Also a legal blocking zone (same size) for blocking in the back. Another exception! Also a blocking below the waist zone 7 yds. in any direction from the center of the off. formation behind the nz and 10 yrd. beyond the nz. Another exception! Three exceptions on the same play. Factor in holding,chop block ( high-low, low- high, low-low), blocking toward the original position of the ball, was the blocker in motion at the snap, gives the R and U lot to do for the first 5-8 seconds. And BJ #itches about how rough he has it. PSK just uses the LOS or NZ as beyond or behind. Looks like to me the new Fed PSK rule will require changing some wording or add an exception. NCAA has the exception worded so "clean hands" can apply also, by including "on any change of possession". Don't know if Fed includes this. PSK is easy to enforce. 4 conditions must be met. 1. the foul is by Team B (R) 2. the foul takes place during a scrimmage kick play ( not the try) in which the ball crosses the netral zone.that is at the time the foul takes place the ball has not come into player possession or is dead by rule. 3. the foul occurs three yards or more beyond the NZ. 4. the ball belongs to team B(R)when the down ends. If the kick ends in B's end zone the 20 yd line is taken as the end-of-the-kick spot. Scrimmage kick plays begin at the snap and ends when ball becomes dead by rule or is in player possion. Thanks again, Bluduc [Edited by bluduc on Jul 28th, 2003 at 01:54 PM] |
Gentlemen-
Are you confusing the ENZ with the Free Blocking Zone here? |
NFL rule for what its worth...
Checked out NFL rule 9-1-17(exception 2): "If the receiving team commits a foul after the ball is kicked (ball crosses the scrimmage line) during a scrimmage down and the receivers possess and keep the kicked ball, the penalty for their infraction will be ruled as a foul after possession (post-possession)..."
So fouls by R prior to the kick crossing the neutral zone are treated like loose ball fouls. Fouls by R after the kick has crossed the expanded neutral zone come under PSK if the other requirements are met. This would also cover double fouls and whether R can decline K's foul and still retain possession of the ball after PSK enforcement of R's foul. Okay, I'm comfortable with this but is it legal for NF? Is the NF interpretation posted anywhere yet? |
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Ed Hickland
[B] Quote:
[B][QUOTE] Ed, you made a boo-boo :) What you've described is not the ENZ (expanded neutral zone). What you are describing is the FBZ (free blocking zone). Big differance I know you know. The NZ is the space between the two scrimmage lines during a scrimmage down and is as wide as the length of the ball. The neutral zone may be expanded following the snap up to a maximum of 2 yards behind the defensive line of scrimmage, in the field of play during a scrimmage down. (Remember the ENZ doesn't extend into the EZ) |
[QUOTE]Originally posted by James Neil
[B][QUOTE]Originally posted by Ed Hickland [B] Quote:
Quote:
|
2003 NFHS Rules Interpretations
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mike Simonds
Checked out NFL rule 9-1-17(exception 2): "If the receiving team commits a foul after the ball is kicked (ball crosses the scrimmage line) during a scrimmage down and the receivers possess and keep the kicked ball, the penalty for their infraction will be ruled as a foul after possession (post-possession)..." So fouls by R prior to the kick crossing the neutral zone are treated like loose ball fouls. Fouls by R after the kick has crossed the expanded neutral zone come under PSK if the other requirements are met. This would also cover double fouls and whether R can decline K's foul and still retain possession of the ball after PSK enforcement of R's foul. Okay, I'm comfortable with this but is it legal for NF? [QUOTE] Yes, the result of the play is the same under 2003 NFHS Rules, as long as all the conditions of NFHS PSK requirments are met! [QUOTE] Is the NF interpretation posted anywhere yet? [QUOTE] I just spoke with "Kim" at the NFHS office. Kim said the 2003 interpretations will be posted on their website by the end of this week. You should be able to view them at: http://www.nfhs.org/sports/football_interp.htm |
Thanks KWH
Okay, I'm looking forward to getting the interpretations. Makes sense to me: on a scrimmage kick possession changes when the kick crosses the expanded neutral zone. Just for fun I posted my own play example on the NF discussion board. There is still disagreement out there so the interpretation will be much welcome.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34pm. |