The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Super Bowl No Call (https://forum.officiating.com/football/93866-super-bowl-no-call.html)

MD Longhorn Mon Feb 04, 2013 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 876839)
Question for you all as I am not a football official and do not have any knowledge of the mechanics.

From a football fan only perspective, I could agree with a call or a no-call on the play. My question is the positioning of the officials. From what I saw, the two officials who could have had a look at the play were both straight lined and looking through the players. The side official (SJ?) was almost directly behind the receiver and the Back Judge was moving toward the play along the back line of the EZ, looking through the defensive back.

I'd be interested to hear any thoughts that any of you may have on this.

This is not really BJ's call at all - he's moving over to cover a possible back-line call. HL (or LJ) is probably out of the film shot, but in perfect position to help with this call if SJ (or FJ) are unable to see it.

JRutledge Mon Feb 04, 2013 02:35pm

I would have to see the play in question again, but based on what I remember the deep wings (SJ, FJ) and Back Judge were all at the end line at the start of the play. The only ones that would have been behind the play are the short wings (Linesman or Line Judge). As a general rule the outside receiver is the key of the deep wing to that side of the field. Potentially 3 officials could see some part of the play if they have gotten off their key and zone up to cover their angle. The deep wing or back judge would see the entire play if the receiver was their key and then the other official would see it once it was clear the pass was being made to that area. Any one of these 3 officials could have called this foul if they saw it that way, but usually at least one official is with the entire play the entire time if they are doing their job and likely passed because they saw the actions of the receiver and saw both players grasping and holding each other.

Peace

Rich Mon Feb 04, 2013 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 876849)
I would have to see the play in question again, but based on what I remember the deep wings (SJ, FJ) and Back Judge were all at the end line at the start of the play. The only ones that would have been behind the play are the short wings (Linesman or Line Judge). As a general rule the outside receiver is the key of the deep wing to that side of the field. Potentially 3 officials could see some part of the play if they have gotten off their key and zone up to cover their angle. The deep wing or back judge would see the entire play if the receiver was their key and then the other official would see it once it was clear the pass was being made to that area. Any one of these 3 officials could have called this foul if they saw it that way, but usually at least one official is with the entire play the entire time if they are doing their job and likely passed because they saw the actions of the receiver and saw both players grasping and holding each other.

Peace

The play was from the 5 -- the deep wings were at the end line, the back judge was on the end line, the short wing went to the pylon as the play developed.

A flag, if there was one considered EARLY in the play, would've likely come from the deep wing -- the outside guy is his key. Not that I'm saying there should've been one -- I don't think that at all.

JRutledge Mon Feb 04, 2013 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 876858)
The play was from the 5 -- the deep wings were at the end line, the back judge was on the end line, the short wing went to the pylon as the play developed.

A flag, if there was one considered EARLY in the play, would've likely come from the deep wing -- the outside guy is his key. Not that I'm saying there should've been one -- I don't think that at all.

I was not sure where the ball was snapped from. I thought it was inside the 5 but thanks for the clarification.

Peace

johnnyg08 Mon Feb 04, 2013 03:10pm

This is a coin flip thread. May I suggest moving non-coin flip discussion to a new thread?

Scuba_ref Mon Feb 04, 2013 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 876819)
Grabbing the jersey alone is not holding.

Although it was earlier in this game.

Welpe Mon Feb 04, 2013 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 876863)
This is a coin flip thread. May I suggest moving non-coin flip discussion to a new thread?

I went ahead and split all of the posts off into their own thread.

MD Longhorn Mon Feb 04, 2013 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scuba_ref (Post 876868)
Although it was earlier in this game.

No. Grabbing the jersey ALONE was not holding early in the game.

APG Mon Feb 04, 2013 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scuba_ref (Post 876868)
Although it was earlier in this game.

If I'm remembering the same play (and I only remember one DPI being called in the game), then there was clear and material restriction by the 49ers' cornerback on the play.

grunewar Mon Feb 04, 2013 04:09pm

More food for thought.......
 
Did the Ravens get away with a no-call?

MD Longhorn Mon Feb 04, 2013 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 876896)

Pass interference ... and THEN a hold? I'll mail that Harbaugh a rulebook if the other Harbaugh will reimburse the $80 I lost when he took that ill advised safety.

OKREF Mon Feb 04, 2013 05:11pm

The ball was snapped from the 5. They was contact within the 5 yards by both players. However, after they crossed the goal line, the DB wraps his arm around Crabtree, grabs his jersey and prevents him from getting to position to make a play on the ball. Not saying he would have caught the ball, but was prevented from the attempt.

bisonlj Mon Feb 04, 2013 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 876922)
Pass interference ... and THEN a hold? I'll mail that Harbaugh a rulebook if the other Harbaugh will reimburse the $80 I lost when he took that ill advised safety.

He was saying the 2nd down play was DPI and the 4th down play was a hold.

This was a close judgement call that could go either way (and probably would have been supported either way). I go with the guys on the field wearing stripes who have earned the right to be there. They have seen this play hundreds of times in their career. They get paid big bucks to make judgment calls and they did.

grunewar Tue Feb 05, 2013 05:05am

and now for something completely different......
 
Bell: Super Bowl non-call was the right call

sloth Tue Feb 05, 2013 08:15am

First, you can't judge the play in slow motion. You need to watch real time speed in order to judge hold/no hold. The game is played at a ceratin speed and officiated at the same speed...when you slow it down, you loose all perspective.


I have the reciever initating contact (rememeber he is still a potential blocker if A is running a sweep to that side). My philosophy has always been that if a reciever wants to be treated as a reciever he needs to avoid contact. He needs to establish that his intention isn't to block. In this particular play, if the reciever tries to avoid contact, I'm more likely to consider holding.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1