The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2003, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Harry, I believe that your assertion is correct that an ineligible may be in the expanded neutral zone before a legal forward pass is in flight only if he is blocking an opponent. However, for all my criticism of the Federation editors, I think that 7-5-12 got it right:

"Ineligible A players may not advance beyond the expanded neutral zone on a legal forward pass play before the last pass which crosses the neutral zone." This is a true statement--no ineligible player can be beyond the ENZ until the pass is in flight. Yes, some are further restricted (i.e. those not blocking a opponent), but none are permitted to be beyond the ENZ in any event.

"...An ineligible is not illegally downfield if, at the snap, he immediately contacts a B lineman and the contact does not continue beyond the expanded neutral zone." Also true, and it is in this sentence that they codify what criteria must be met for an ineligible to be in the ENZ prior to the pass being in flight. It's this statement which confirms that for some ineligibles the NZ expands, and for others it does not.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1