The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Sideline interference (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92889-sideline-interference.html)

voiceoflg Sun Nov 11, 2012 01:22pm

Sideline interference
 
NFHS. B17 intercepts a pass at their own 10 and runs it back 90 yards into the end zone. At A's 30 the sideline judge runs into an assistant coach who was on the field. Their shoulders collided but the official was still able to run down the field.

What is the call? I wasn't there and didn't see the result in the video, but the newspaper wrote:

"Wright was picked off on the next play by Fabian Few at the 10 and the Bulldog senior return it 90 yards untouched for what looked like a game-breaking score with 0:04 left in the half.

The Thomson bench, however, was flagged for sideline interference when the side judge, trailing 15 yards behind the play, ran into the shoulder of a celebrating Bulldog assistant and nullified the touchdown with a flag."

According to the box score, the touchdown was indeed nullified.

HLin NC Sun Nov 11, 2012 01:32pm

The call was sideline interference, 9-4-8

Quote:

Unintentional contact with a game official in the restricted area. Nonplayer foul (Art. 8) – (S38; 29). For the first offense, 15 yards from the succeeding spot. For the second offense (S38- 29- 47) – 15 yards from the succeeding spot and disqualification of the head coach. Disqualification also if any foul is flagrant – (S47).
Sounds as if it was enforced incorrectly. Its a succeeding spot foul.

maven Sun Nov 11, 2012 01:33pm

If that's what happened, the officials screwed up: the basic spot for any non-player foul is the succeeding spot. 10-4-5c

jchamp Sun Nov 11, 2012 07:05pm

There's lots of worse ways for a crew to learn that lesson, but it should be a pretty fundamental call from a rules perspective. It's an effective learning tool to see your mistakes written about in the newspaper, let alone permanently engraved on the internet.

voiceoflg Sun Nov 11, 2012 09:30pm

It didn't affect the outcome of the game. If the assistant coach had been where he was supposed to have been, it wouldn't have happened.

I wouldn't have known it was an incorrect enforcement. Thanks for the education.

Adam Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:42pm

Was there maybe another penalty on the play?

JasonLJ Tue Nov 13, 2012 09:42am

Correct call, incorrect enforcement.

I myself "bumped" into 3 coaches this year, 2 of them were on TD's.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1