The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2012, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike51 View Post
NFHS A88 (eligible reciever) is held by B15 as he moves downfield, before the pass is thrown. The pass is complete to (a)A88 or (b) A81 either 20 yards downfield or in the endzone for a TD.

Does the penalty "carry over" to the PAT or KO, or the end of the run if not a TD?
Or does it have to be declined to get the results of the play?

Thanks
If the result of the play is a TD, then yes, the foul by the defense can carryover to the TRY or KO. If the result of the play is anything else, then the offense has a choice of enforcing from the previous spot (since the foul occurred during a loose ball play) or they can decline the foul and take the result of the play.

If the defense commits a holding foul and the QB decides to run with it, then you can enforce it from the end of the run (basic spot for fouls by the defense during running plays is the end of the run).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2012, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbailey View Post
If the result of the play is a TD, then yes, the foul by the defense can carryover to the TRY or KO. If the result of the play is anything else, then the offense has a choice of enforcing from the previous spot (since the foul occurred during a loose ball play) or they can decline the foul and take the result of the play.

If the defense commits a holding foul and the QB decides to run with it, then you can enforce it from the end of the run (basic spot for fouls by the defense during running plays is the end of the run).
What if the foul on the defense is a personal foul facemask on the defensive end rushing the passer (he pulls the mask of the tackle blocking him). The QB throws a complete pass for a gain of twenty yards or a TD pass.
Holding is the same as the facemask penalty? Does the personal foul change anything/

Again thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2012, 07:59pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Mike, the foul by the opponent of the scoring team is going to carry over. A live ball foul with no score isn't. Changing the type of foul and continuing to ask "what if" isn't going to change the answer. I posted the Rule 8 articles that should answer your questions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1