The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NFHS question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92798-nfhs-question.html)

CT1 Mon Oct 29, 2012 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JasonLJ (Post 860457)
I still had it as roughing, same as the WH.

Not trying to be ugly, but why were you looking at the QB?

JRutledge Mon Oct 29, 2012 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 860498)
Not trying to be ugly, but why were you looking at the QB?

I did not take this has him actually looking at the QB or passer. I took this has him explaining why he would go with RTP. As this appears to have been a coach-official conference. And depending on the play, he would be looking at the QB rolling to his side and might notice him getting hit and might even notice a tipped ball immediately as well.

Peace

BktBallRef Mon Oct 29, 2012 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 860487)
Not much longer: "It is still a forward pass until it is caught or becomes dead by rule."

Tipped ball hits the ground and then the "passer" is hit, he is no longer a passer. But you could still have a dead ball PF.

JasonLJ Mon Oct 29, 2012 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 860498)
Not trying to be ugly, but why were you looking at the QB?

I wasn't. I actually was umpiring this game. The WH asked if the ball was tipped, I told him it was. I was just agreeing that if he had roughing, then the call should stand regardless of the tipped ball.

CT1 Mon Oct 29, 2012 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JasonLJ (Post 860534)
I wasn't. I actually was umpiring this game. The WH asked if the ball was tipped, I told him it was. I was just agreeing that if he had roughing, then the call should stand regardless of the tipped ball.

OK, sorry. I took your post to mean that you *also* thought the hit on the passer was RTP.

Robert Goodman Thu Nov 01, 2012 11:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JasonLJ (Post 860445)
The kicker is one official (Who is also a WH but was head linesman this game)

Why is an official allowed to play in his own game? Next you'll be telling me the teams had linesmen.

MD Longhorn Fri Nov 02, 2012 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 860919)
Why is an official allowed to play in his own game? Next you'll be telling me the teams had linesmen.

Ok, I'll give you this one... that was funny.

JugglingReferee Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:46am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JasonLJ (Post 860439)
In a game Friday night, the R had roughing the passer on Team B, but the pass was tipped behind the line (screen pass) also by Team B. Team B wanted the roughing taken away because the ball was tipped. The R made the initial call, talked to the Team B coach, was going to wave it off then decided to still enforce it. looked like a clown show. My question is does a tipped ball cancel out roughing the passer?

CANADIAN RULING:

No.

Nor would it matter if the B player tipping the ball was the same player that was flagged for RTP.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1