![]() |
NFHS question
In a game Friday night, the R had roughing the passer on Team B, but the pass was tipped behind the line (screen pass) also by Team B. Team B wanted the roughing taken away because the ball was tipped. The R made the initial call, talked to the Team B coach, was going to wave it off then decided to still enforce it. looked like a clown show. My question is does a tipped ball cancel out roughing the passer?
|
No.
|
Quote:
|
The kicker is one official (Who is also a WH but was head linesman this game) was trying to tell the WH that he threw the ball so he no longer is a passer. I was amazed that he said that.
And I agree Radio, this wasn't PI, it was roughing. |
Rule: 2-32-11
A passer is a player who throws a legal forward pass. He continues to be a passer until the legal forward pass ends or until he moves to participate in the play. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I was simply commenting on this other official: when telling someone he's wrong, I always try to start with a win for him. For instance: "You know, Bob, you're right: when B tips the ball, you can't have PI. But I don't think that provision applies to RTP. The passer is still protected." I was thinking something similar about his concern that the passer was no longer a passer after the ball was released. "Bob, you're right, he does cease to be a passer at some point, but I think he has until the pass ends." |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Was this a Coach-Referee conference?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
No. Nor would it matter if the B player tipping the ball was the same player that was flagged for RTP. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31pm. |