The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Contact w/ coach in restricted area (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92623-contact-w-coach-restricted-area.html)

ChickenOfNC Wed Oct 10, 2012 02:11pm

Contact w/ coach in restricted area
 
Line judge contacts team A's head coach in the restricted area during a live ball. Flag is thrown, 15 yard penalty against the head coach.

He then argues the call to the point that the R flags him for UC.

Is he disqualified?

Sonofanump Wed Oct 10, 2012 02:58pm

Not in NCAA.

CT1 Wed Oct 10, 2012 03:18pm

In FED, stick a fork in him -- he's done.

bcl1127 Wed Oct 10, 2012 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 857819)
In FED, stick a fork in him -- he's done.

I don't think this is correct, but I need to go home and check my rule/case book.

But I remember reading and discussing that an Unsportsmanlike and a 15 yard Sideline interference do not combine to disqualify the coach in Fed rules. I think you need two of the same kind, two sideline interference or two US to disqualify. When I find the wording I am looking for in the books I'll post the quotes.

Rich Wed Oct 10, 2012 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC (Post 857791)
Line judge contacts team A's head coach in the restricted area during a live ball. Flag is thrown, 15 yard penalty against the head coach.

He then argues the call to the point that the R flags him for UC.

Is he disqualified?

No.

It takes a second sideline interference of this type to disqualify a head coach or a second UNS to do the same. One of each doesn't add up to two in this case.

BktBallRef Wed Oct 10, 2012 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 857831)
No.

It takes a second sideline interference of this type to disqualify a head coach or a second UNS to do the same. One of each doesn't add up to two in this case.


Correct. The first flag is a personal foul. You would need a second personal foul for contact in the restricted area.

The USC is his first, so he would need a second USC to get run.

Welpe Wed Oct 10, 2012 05:25pm

If you run into an assistant in the restricted area, is that charged to the assistant or to the head coach?

Rich Wed Oct 10, 2012 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 857846)
If you run into an assistant in the restricted area, is that charged to the assistant or to the head coach?

Head coach. It's actually any non-player (it's a non-player foul, not a personal foul), not just coaches -- two of them and the head coach is disqualified. It's specifically written that way in 9-4-8 PENALTY.

BktBallRef Wed Oct 10, 2012 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 857850)
Head coach. It's actually any non-player (it's a non-player foul, not a personal foul), not just coaches -- two of them and the head coach is disqualified. It's specifically written that way in 9-4-8 PENALTY.

It's actually both, a non-player, illegal personal contact penalty.

The referee signals personal foul (#38) and sideline interference (#29).

USC is a non-contact foul. So getting one of each does not result in ejection.

ILLEGAL PERSONAL CONTACT<O:p</O:p
9.4.8 SITUATION A: Third and five for A on B’s 30-yard line when B1 intercepts A1’s pass at B’s 15-yard line. B1 returns the interception along A’s sideline and is downed on A’s 40- yard line. During B1’s run the Head Linesman unintentionally runs into: (a) a cameraman between the restraining line and sideline at B’s 20-yard line; (b) A’s assistant coach in the restricted area at B’s 45-yard line; or (c) A’s head coach on the field of play at the 50-yard line.
RULING: No foul in (a), but the game administrator must ensure the area between the playing field and the restraining line is clear of all non-authorized personnel.In (b) and (c) A’s head coach is assessed a 15-yard non-player, illegal personal contact penalty at the succeeding spot.

legend Thu Oct 11, 2012 07:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 857871)
It's actually both, a non-player, illegal personal contact penalty.

The referee signals personal foul (#38) and sideline interference (#29).

USC is a non-contact foul. So getting one of each does not result in ejection.

ILLEGAL PERSONAL CONTACT<O:p</O:p
9.4.8 SITUATION A: Third and five for A on B’s 30-yard line when B1 intercepts A1’s pass at B’s 15-yard line. B1 returns the interception along A’s sideline and is downed on A’s 40- yard line. During B1’s run the Head Linesman unintentionally runs into: (a) a cameraman between the restraining line and sideline at B’s 20-yard line; (b) A’s assistant coach in the restricted area at B’s 45-yard line; or (c) A’s head coach on the field of play at the 50-yard line.
RULING: No foul in (a), but the game administrator must ensure the area between the playing field and the restraining line is clear of all non-authorized personnel.In (b) and (c) A’s head coach is assessed a 15-yard non-player, illegal personal contact penalty at the succeeding spot.


A crew in our chapter had this type of play in a varsity game a few weeks ago. Where a local news paper photographer was on the sideline and got in the way of the L.J.. Needless to say the head coach wasn't very happy to get 15 due to a person not even affialiated with the program.

jdmara Thu Oct 11, 2012 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by legend (Post 857915)
A crew in our chapter had this type of play in a varsity game a few weeks ago. Where a local news paper photographer was on the sideline and got in the way of the L.J.. Needless to say the head coach wasn't very happy to get 15 due to a person not even affialiated with the program.

Not good but the coach is responsible for his sideline regardless. He better get game management to get the fool off the field.

-Josh

RadioBlue Thu Oct 11, 2012 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by legend (Post 857915)
A crew in our chapter had this type of play in a varsity game a few weeks ago. Where a local news paper photographer was on the sideline and got in the way of the L.J.. Needless to say the head coach wasn't very happy to get 15 due to a person not even affialiated with the program.

As I read 9.4.8 (a), the head coach had every right to not be very happy as that shouldn't have been a foul.

HLin NC Thu Oct 11, 2012 09:02am

Quote:

A crew in our chapter had this type of play in a varsity game a few weeks ago. Where a local news paper photographer was on the sideline and got in the way of the L.J.. Needless to say the head coach wasn't very happy to get 15 due to a person not even affialiated with the program.
In light of the aforementioned case play, I can't see why this was enforced as such. I imagine some higher ups got a call or are going to get one.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1