The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Safety or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92517-safety-not.html)

ODJ Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:01pm

Safety or Not?
 
This situation was posed to my group this week:

B33 intercepts A's pass in his end zone and is tackled there. After COP, but before B33 is downed, B45 holds A22 in B's EZ.

Popular response: Touchback. Assess the holding penalty from B's 20. 1/10 for B at B's 10.

Correct answer: Safety.

Can't find a rule reference to support a safety. Assistance, please.

JugglingReferee Thu Sep 27, 2012 07:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ (Post 856244)
This situation was posed to my group this week:

B33 intercepts A's pass in his end zone and is tackled there. After COP, but before B33 is downed, B45 holds A22 in B's EZ.

Popular response: Touchback. Assess the holding penalty from B's 20. 1/10 for B at B's 10.

Correct answer: Safety.

Can't find a rule reference to support a safety. Assistance, please.

Isn't the factor that decides the ruling is to ask how the ball entered the EZ? The ball entered the EZ because of A. So if B fouls, is it fair that the play results in a safety?

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 27, 2012 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 856262)
Isn't the factor that decides the ruling is to ask how the ball entered the EZ? The ball entered the EZ because of A. So if B fouls, is it fair that the play results in a safety?

It's not about fair, it's about what the rule says, and I believe I've been railing against this ruling for about 10 years now. Safety is correct, even though it's a ridiculous result.

Welpe Thu Sep 27, 2012 08:48am

Speaking only for NCAA (don't work Fed any more), this is a safety because while the basic spot is the B-20, the spot of the foul is behind the basic spot. Using 3 and 1 enforcement, the penalty is enforced from the spot of the foul, which is in the end zone. The penalty enforcement results in a safety.

I believe Fed is the same way but what you need to look for is where Fed defines the basic spot and then apply All but one enforcement.

maven Thu Sep 27, 2012 08:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 856276)
I believe Fed is the same way but what you need to look for is where Fed defines the basic spot and then apply All but one enforcement.

That's it:

10-4-5d (basic spot)

"The basic spot is the succeeding spot:
d. When the final result is a touchback."


10-6 (all but one)

"Unless otherwise listed in Section 4 and 5, a penalty for a foul occurring during
a play is enforced from the basic spot with the exception of a foul by the offense
which occurs behind the basic spot during a loose ball play or running play. This
particular foul is enforced from the spot of the foul."


And 8-5-2c (safety)

"A player on offense commits any foul for which the penalty is accepted and
enforcement is from a spot in his end zone..."

Adam Thu Sep 27, 2012 09:57am

Moral of the story, don't hold in your own end zone.

asdf Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ (Post 856244)
This situation was posed to my group this week:

B33 intercepts A's pass in his end zone and is tackled there. After COP, but before B33 is downed, B45 holds A22 in B's EZ.

Popular response: Touchback. Assess the holding penalty from B's 20. 1/10 for B at B's 10.

Correct answer: Safety.

Can't find a rule reference to support a safety. Assistance, please.

*8.5.2 SITUATION F: B1 intercepts on his own 4-yard line and his momentum takes him into B’s end zone. (a) B1 advances out of the end zone and runs to his own 35-yard line; or (b) B1 runs out of the end zone then circles back into it and in both cases is downed there; or (c) B1 is hit and fumbles and A1 falls on the loose ball in the end zone; or (d) B2 holds A1 in the end zone as B1 is downed there.

RULING: Legal advance in (a). In (b), it is a safety. Once B1 advances out
of the end zone as in (a) or (b), the exception is canceled and action thereafter dictates the result of the play. Touchdown for A in (c). In (d), the foul by B2 occurred in the end zone behind the basic spot resulting in a safety. (7-5-4; 8-2-1; 8-5-2a Exception; 10-4-3; 10-6)

Rich Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:35am

It's a great thread, actually. And it's a great example of why every penalty can be broken down to some key questions:

Who committed the foul? Team in possession.
What kind of play? Running play.
What's the basic spot? B-20.
Is the foul behind the basic spot? Yes.

So it's all-but-one (or 3-and-1) enforcement. Spot of the foul is in the end zone. Safety.

I have no problem with the ruling, personally. Don't hold in the end zone.

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 856292)
It's a great thread, actually. And it's a great example of why every penalty can be broken down to some key questions:

Who committed the foul? Team in possession.
What kind of play? Running play.
What's the basic spot? B-20.
Is the foul behind the basic spot? Yes.

So it's all-but-one (or 3-and-1) enforcement. Spot of the foul is in the end zone. Safety.

I have no problem with the ruling, personally. Don't hold in the end zone.

Here's why I don't like the rule.

Generally, the idea behind awarding a safety to a team who is fouled in the endzone is that the fouler possibly prevented the fouled team from getting a safety. When the ball is in the EZ and will be a touchback, that possibility does not exist. Fouls like this should be enforced from the 20.

asdf Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 856306)
Here's why I don't like the rule.

Generally, the idea behind awarding a safety to a team who is fouled in the endzone is that the fouler possibly prevented the fouled team from getting a safety. When the ball is in the EZ and will be a touchback, that possibility does not exist. Fouls like this should be enforced from the 20.

I see your point, however, what about when the runner starts to take off?

There is too much grey area of when the play will result in a TB. (remember, we're talking kids here)

Like many have said... Don't foul in the EZ and it's not an issue.

JugglingReferee Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 856306)
Here's why I don't like the rule.

Generally, the idea behind awarding a safety to a team who is fouled in the endzone is that the fouler possibly prevented the fouled team from getting a safety. When the ball is in the EZ and will be a touchback, that possibility does not exist. Fouls like this should be enforced from the 20.

This makes so much more sense.

jchamp Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 856306)
Here's why I don't like the rule.

Generally, the idea behind awarding a safety to a team who is fouled in the endzone is that the fouler possibly prevented the fouled team from getting a safety. When the ball is in the EZ and will be a touchback, that possibility does not exist. Fouls like this should be enforced from the 20.

While I'll enforce this as a Safety, I agree that the rule should be changed, one way or another. The conflicting rule in question is 8-5-3d, which states "It is a touchback when: ... A forward pass is intercepted in B's end zone and becomes dead there in B's possession."

I don't care how the rule is patched, if they choose to make an exception to 8-5-3d which states that a foul accepted by A would be a safety, or if they choose to award B the ball and enforce the foul from the 20 yard line. As long as it removes any conflicts, it's an improvement.

CT1 Thu Sep 27, 2012 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 856306)
Here's why I don't like the rule.

Generally, the idea behind awarding a safety to a team who is fouled in the endzone is that the fouler possibly prevented the fouled team from getting a safety. When the ball is in the EZ and will be a touchback, that possibility does not exist. Fouls like this should be enforced from the 20.

But the problem is that we just don't know what might have happened without the foul. Maybe the offended A player hits the ball carrier causing a fumble which A recovers for a TD.

As others have said, don't foul in your own EZ and we don't have this problem.

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 27, 2012 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 856310)
I see your point, however, what about when the runner starts to take off?

There is too much grey area of when the play will result in a TB. (remember, we're talking kids here)

Like many have said... Don't foul in the EZ and it's not an issue.

If the rule were changed such that a foul in the endzone committed while the ball is in the endzone when a TB would be in effect instead of a safety, the foul is marked from the subsequent spot or the 20, whichever is closest to the end zone, that would still cover your "runner takes off" situation. My wording is not perfect here (then again, what rule is? :) ), but you know what I mean.

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 27, 2012 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 856338)
But the problem is that we just don't know what might have happened without the foul. Maybe the offended A player hits the ball carrier causing a fumble which A recovers for a TD.

Not seeing the problem on that example either. A would decline the penalty.

ODJ Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:13pm

Found the play in Reddings today. (Ch. 11-48.)

Explanation for why it's a safety is once the pass is intercepted, the succeeding spot - B's 20 - becomes the basic spot. Yes, while the play continues.

Because the foul occurs behind the basic spot, All but One, and in the end zone, result is a safety.

I agree with a rule change as A is rewarded two points for throwing an interception.

Thanks for the help.

Rich Fri Sep 28, 2012 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ (Post 856420)
Found the play in Reddings today. (Ch. 11-48.)

Explanation for why it's a safety is once the pass is intercepted, the succeeding spot - B's 20 - becomes the basic spot. Yes, while the play continues.

Because the foul occurs behind the basic spot, All but One, and in the end zone, result is a safety.

I agree with a rule change as A is rewarded two points for throwing an interception.

Thanks for the help.

Well, we told you that above. :D

And I think it's a perfectly fine application of the rules. Holding in the end zone has consequences.

I'm much more annoyed about using all-but-one on offensive penalties behind the line of scrimmage -- 10 yards from the previous spot is more than enough for a holding penalty, for example. And I'd love to be able to apply K fouls at the end of kicks like in NCAA football.

Robert Goodman Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 856438)
I'm much more annoyed about using all-but-one on offensive penalties behind the line of scrimmage -- 10 yards from the previous spot is more than enough for a holding penalty, for example.

This is all about what you think might've happened in the absence of the foul. The pros were 1st to change this, about 40 yrs. ago, in the assumption that if team A hadn't committed illegal use of hands, there would've been an incomplete pass rather than a sacking.

However, if a foul by A springs the runner for a gain, why should it matter whether that gain was from a point behind or beyond the previous spot?

Welpe Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 856438)
Well, we told you that above. :D

And I think it's a perfectly fine application of the rules. Holding in the end zone has consequences.

I'm much more annoyed about using all-but-one on offensive penalties behind the line of scrimmage -- 10 yards from the previous spot is more than enough for a holding penalty, for example. And I'd love to be able to apply K fouls at the end of kicks like in NCAA football.

Have I mentioned how much I love that all of my games are played under NCAA rules?

BuckeyeRef Thu Oct 04, 2012 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 856356)
Not seeing the problem on that example either. A would decline the penalty.

The point is, the A player was held and never had the opportunity to tackle the B player and cause the fumble. Then there is no penalty to decline. That's the What If? scenario.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1