The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2012, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster View Post
Also, you say that B is responsible for forcing the ball into his own end zone. This is not correct. The momentum exception implies that the forward pass was the force that put the ball into the end zone. Had he been tackled in the end zone and not fumbled, the ball would be B's at the 3 yard line, and the penalty enforced from there, not a safety.
Respectfully disagree ... The pass is not the force that put the ball in the EZ. When B caught the pass on the 3 yd line, the pass ends and B's "run" begins. So yes, B is responsible for forcing/taking the ball into his own EZ. Now, as long as the ball becomes dead in B's EZ and B still has Team Position, the momentum exception allows the ball to be placed at the 3yd line (EOR).

The exception does not imply, it states:
EXCEPTION: When a defensive player intercepts an opponent’s forward pass; intercepts or recovers an opponent’s fumble or backward pass; or an R player catches or recovers a scrimmage kick or free kick between his 5-yard line and the goal line, and his original momentum carries him into the end zone where the ball is declared dead in his team’s possession or it goes out of bounds in the end zone, the ball belongs to the team in possession at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered.
Intercepted, caught or recovered mean the player in question is in possession of a live ball and that makes him a runner who is responsible for where he goes.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2012, 01:05pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
In Canada, we deem possession to be gained in the EZ (due to momentum) and therefore B scrimmages 1D/10 @ B-20.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2012, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Great Pacific NW
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ump33 View Post
Respectfully disagree ... The pass is not the force that put the ball in the EZ. When B caught the pass on the 3 yd line, the pass ends and B's "run" begins. So yes, B is responsible for forcing/taking the ball into his own EZ. Now, as long as the ball becomes dead in B's EZ and B still has Team Position, the momentum exception allows the ball to be placed at the 3yd line (EOR).

The exception does not imply, it states:
EXCEPTION: When a defensive player intercepts an opponent’s forward pass; intercepts or recovers an opponent’s fumble or backward pass; or an R player catches or recovers a scrimmage kick or free kick between his 5-yard line and the goal line, and his original momentum carries him into the end zone where the ball is declared dead in his team’s possession or it goes out of bounds in the end zone, the ball belongs to the team in possession at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered.
Intercepted, caught or recovered mean the player in question is in possession of a live ball and that makes him a runner who is responsible for where he goes.
I respectfully disagree with you. The pass in this instance IS the force responsible for putting the ball into the end zone. Otherwise, if as you suggest, B supplied the force which put the ball into the end zone, downing it there would be a safety by rule. There are certain things that can put the ball into the end zone without being considered a new force. Among them are muffed punts/kickoffs, batted backward passes before they are grounded, and any play where momentum carries you into the end zone. In each of these examples, the force is supplied by the kick or pass. Of this I am 100% sure.

Last edited by WestCoaster; Mon Sep 17, 2012 at 01:32pm. Reason: Added examples
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2012, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster View Post
I respectfully disagree with you. The pass in this instance IS the force responsible for putting the ball into the end zone. Otherwise, if as you suggest, B supplied the force which put the ball into the end zone, downing it there would be a safety by rule.
Hince the entire reason for the Momentun Exception.
8-5-2 . . . It is a safety when:
a. A runner carries the ball from the field of play to or across his own goal line, and it becomes dead there in his team’s possession.
EXCEPTION: When a defensive player intercepts an opponent’s forward pass; intercepts or recovers an opponent’s fumble or backward pass; or an R player catches or recovers a scrimmage kick or free kick between his 5-yard line and the goal line, and his original momentum carries him into the end zone where the ball is declared dead in his team’s possession or it goes out of bounds in the end zone, the ball belongs to the team in possession at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2012, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster View Post
I respectfully disagree with you. The pass in this instance IS the force responsible for putting the ball into the end zone. Otherwise, if as you suggest, B supplied the force which put the ball into the end zone, downing it there would be a safety by rule.
That is exactly right. You have it now. If there was no momentum exception in the rulebook, then this play would result in a safety (in fact, before this rule, DB's making this play knew they had to get it back out of the EZ!).

You've illustrated the entire reason for the existence of the momentum exception. Now add in that due to the fumble in the OP, the momentum exception does not apply, and you're back to this basic play above (pre-exception if you will)... which is, as you're being told, and as you agree with now, a safety.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1