The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 05, 2003, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by stripes1977
In this situation we don't have any room to interpret. The action by B is definitely adding a new force to the ball because it is a grounded loose ball. This play is definitely a touchback, cheap or not.
I don't believe this is true my comrade in strips. The last sentence of NF 2-13-1 says “ After a backward pass, fumble or kick has been grounded, a new force MAY result from a bat, an illegal kick or muff“ (caps are mine). I think they used the word “may” as opposed to “will” to let us know we have “room to interpret”. Judgment call all the way. On this play I tend to agree with Bob M and wouldn't rule a TB unless the ball was "rocketing" away from A's goal or at rest.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1