The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2003, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Re: Federation rule question

Quote:
Originally posted by sloth
In the federation rule book, 2-16-4 states that "no foul causes a live ball to be dead". Here is a scenarion I am curious about. The yard markers aren't too significant...scrimmage kick. K1 kicks the ball well past the LOS. R1 catches the ball on the run, takes 3-4 steps and signals fair catch. Clearly by rule an illegal fair catch (as defined in 2-9-5).

Now since everything was legal up until the illegal fair catch, I have an instance according to 2-16-4 where a foul can not cause the live ball to be dead. However, I have a reciever that thinks he has protection under a fair catch. I don't blow the whistle, and he gets knocked into next week. I blow the whistle (to kill it) and I commit an inadvertant whistle.

Thoughs, insights, suggestions?


[Edited by sloth on Jun 30th, 2003 at 10:20 PM]
We'll as you have by now have read.. a play situation like this remains live.
A players misunderstanding of the rules is just, well an unfortunate problem that is not the officials concern. I would certainly not advise that an IW is the easy way out. They just cause more problems.

To bad the NF doesn't follow the NCAA code. This play would have been blown dead.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1