The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2003, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
I wonder if they actually mean that ineligible A players can block beyond the neutral zone when A touches the pass but that ineligible A players cannot catch the pass as this would be OPI?

That's exactly what they mean. There wouldn't be any PI restrictions to speak about if we weren't beyond the NZ, since that's the only place they can take place. So big ole lumbering A79 sees the ball tipped in the air by A32, then sees B21 getting ready to snag the pick, so he blocks him from the front above the waist, away from the ball, and it falls harmlessly incomplete. The A coach breathes a sigh of relief. All legal. If lumbering A79 were to touch the pass in an attempt to catch it or tip it away from B21, that's OPI.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1