The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 06, 2003, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19
It IS OPI

It is OPI.

Let's remember that if A touches the ball in or beyond the LOS Pass Interference restriction end for B....and if B touches the pass in or beyond the LOS Pass Interference restriction end for both A and B. Since it is not an Illegal Forward Pass it must be treated as a standard pass play.

B then has the choice of taking the results of the play (should they succeed in securing the interception) and declining the penalty. Should B accept the penalty it is enforced from the previous spot (loose ball penalty) and additionally A incurs a loss of down.

Since A53 did not unintentionally or incidentally touch the ball, but rather intentionally touch the ball he is guilty of Illegal Touching. Should B accept this penalty it would be enforced five yards from the previous spot. However, since the OPI is more damaging I'm sure that's the penalty they will accept.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1