The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2003, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
When I read "A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time," I understand it to mean that the QB throws the ball in a manner that it can't be completed. For example, he sails it across the sideline into the fifth row. In Mike's original play, I envisioned the QB just throwing it up for grabs in a manner such that if A32 was looking for the ball, he would have had a reasonable chance to catch it. I believed that Mike's question was more to determine whether A32's awareness of the pass was a factor in determining whether or not a foul should be called. I contend it's not. A32 being in the area is enough to keep this pass legal. If A32 is near the pass, you cannot say that the QB intentionally threw the ball incomplete. Did the QB throw the ball in order to avoid a loss of yardage and a safety? Sure he did...but he did it legally since it was thrown into an area occupied by an eligible receiver. If A32 was facing the oncoming pass and it fell at his feet, would you throw a flag?
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1