View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 08:18am
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by Smiley
I still rule illegal forward pass. If the only requirement is that an eligible receiver be in the area, then 7-5-2d is unnecessary. What if he is facing the receiver, but intentionally throws it at his feet?
REPLY: Then I think he's throwing it purposefully incomplete and it should be flagged per 7-5-2d. I never contended that 7-5-2d is unnecessary nor did I contend that the only requirement is that an eligible be in the area. I was offering my opinion that throwing it "up for grabs" near an eligible is not intentionally throwing it incomplete and therefore does not violate 7-5-2d, nor does it violate 7-5-2c. Your play clearly violates 7-5-2d.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote