The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Fair Catch (https://forum.officiating.com/football/8773-fair-catch.html)

mikesears Tue May 27, 2003 07:32am

I've got a question. If two players signal for a fair catch, are both player protected?

Play.

4 & 5 at K-20. R1 and R2 are at the hash marks to receive the kick. K1 punts the ball between R1 and R2. While the ball is still in flight, both R1 and R2 signal for a fair catch. At the last moment, R2 stears clear and is blocked by K2. R1 completes the fair catch.

Ruling?


cmathews Tue May 27, 2003 08:51am

Legal, I think. The only player offered protection is the player who catches the ball, IMHO anyway :)

Bob M. Tue May 27, 2003 09:33am

In both the FEDERATION and NCAA codes, <u>any</u> R/B player who gives a valid legal signal is afforded protection. Likewise, each such B player restricted from blocking until the kick ends (FED) or until he touches the kick (NCAA).

STEVED21 Tue May 27, 2003 09:55am

Only the player who catches the ball. But remember, both have the blocking restrictions on them before the kick is ended.

mikesears Tue May 27, 2003 10:16am

Okay, I'm getting two different answers here. I'm looking for a FED ruling. Are both players who signal protected or JUST the player who catches the ball. I'm curious as to what support you can present for the position you take. I'm without a casebook today so I don't know if this is covered there or not.

Thanks!


James Neil Tue May 27, 2003 11:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
Okay, I'm getting two different answers here. I'm looking for a FED ruling. Are both players who signal protected or JUST the player who catches the ball. I'm curious as to what support you can present for the position you take. I'm without a casebook today so I don't know if this is covered there or not.

Thanks!


I'm also without my books today but I believe both are protected. If a player has given a valid FC signal he's expecting that protection. If just for saftey, I believe we need to give it to him

ABoselli Tue May 27, 2003 01:15pm

<i>Contacting a receiver who did not give a fair catch signal or contacting a receiver who has given a signal but is contacted where he cannot make a fair catch is not a foul unless the contact is judged to be a personal foul. The receiver is not afforded special protection in such situations. Members of the kicking team have the responsibility of knowing when the ball is dead. If a kicker could not have seen a fair catch signal made by a teammate of the receiver, there is no foul. However, if he could have seen the signal, he does not have license to contact the receiver.</i>

That's from the case book comment on Rule 6.5.3.

I guess it's a foul in this case if they're near each other.

The Ref of OZ!!! Thu May 29, 2003 08:00am

The first question you need to answer is: when does a kick end? It ends when the ball is caught or muffed. Any receiver who makes a FC is protected/limited from making contact with a member of the K team. After the ball is muffed, not caught, the protection ends, for all players, because the "Kick" has ended. It's still a loose ball play, but the "Kick" has ended.

James Neil Thu May 29, 2003 08:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by The Ref of OZ!!!
The first question you need to answer is: when does a kick end? It ends when the ball is caught or muffed. Any receiver who makes a FC is protected/limited from making contact with a member of the K team. After the ball is muffed, not caught, the protection ends, for all players, because the "Kick" has ended. It's still a loose ball play, but the "Kick" has ended.
Oz, Sorry my good buddy but thats wrong. The muff does not end the kick. The kick ends when a player gains possession or when then ball becomes dead by rule.

JMN Fri May 30, 2003 03:07pm

I agree with James's previous post that a kick does not end until there is possession.

This year, NCAA rules also provide for R to have an unimpeded opportunity to catch a muffed ball on a scrimmage kick. So, it is still a kick until R muffs an attempted catch and then catches the ball, thus securing possession or, R muffs the catch and K or another R player secures possession to end the kick.

Bob M. Fri May 30, 2003 04:16pm

Unless I'm mistaken, that need for the kickers to allow B to complete the catch after a muff only applies to a situation where B has signalled for a fair catch. No signal...no need for A to "wait" for B's catch. At least, that's what I read:

<b>NCAA 6-5-1a:</b> <i>”When a Team B player makes a fair catch, the ball becomes dead where caught and belongs to Team B at that spot (Exception: When a valid fair catch signal is made, the unimpeded opportunity to catch a free or scrimmage kick is extended to a player who muffs the kick and still has an opportunity to complete the catch. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground. If the player subsequently catches the kick, the ball is placed where it was first touched) (A.R. 6-5-1-I-IV)."</i>

JMN Fri May 30, 2003 05:08pm

Bob M.

So right!!

I omitted that R must signal for a fair catch to continue protection as he tries to catch his muffed kick.

Thanks Bob.

jvander Sat Jun 07, 2003 12:15pm

Do we have a invalid or illegal fair catch situation on this play?

ABoselli Sat Jun 07, 2003 01:31pm

No. Everybody on R could conceivably give a FC signal while the ball was in the air. That wouldn't be to their advantage, though, as that would kill it as soon as one of R's folks caught it.

Invalid if it is incorrect as to it's form. Illegal if it is given after the kick has ended (a runner shall not give an illegal FC signal).

The Ref of OZ!!! Sat Jun 07, 2003 10:18pm

"That wouldn't be to their advantage, though, as that would kill it as soon as one of R's folks caught it."

A signal by anyone on the R team will kill the ball as soon as it's caught, at least in NFHS. I don't know about NCAA.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1