The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2003, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 30
COLLEGIATE COMMISSIONERS ASSOCIATION
2003 PRE-SEASON FOOTBALL EXAM

David M. Parry – Coordinator of Football Supervisors
John Adams – NCAA Rules Editor
Dick Honig & Bill LeMonnier - Contributors

100 QUESTIONS

New Rules for 2003

1) On a punt from the A25, the Receiver signals for a fair catch on the B33, bobbles the ball but catches at the B35 prior to it hitting the ground. Immediately after the first touch at the B35, the Receiver is tackled by the Kicking Team.
Ruling:

2) On a punt from the A35, the Receiver (no fair catch signal) catches the ball at the B30. The K Player was right in the face of the receiver at the time of the catch at the B30. The Receiver is tackled immediately.
Ruling:

3) On a punt from the A35, the receiver (no fair catch signal) catches the ball at the B30. The K Player on a dead run hits the Receiver in the head with a shoulder just after he catches the ball. The Tackler was at the B31 when the ball was caught. Ruling:

4) On a punt from the A35, the Receiver (no fair catch signal) on his path to make the catch at the B35 he must go around a K Player at the B33 to get to the B35 and make the catch. Ruling:

5) On a punt from the A35, the Receiver (no fair catch signal) in an attempt to get to the B35 to make the catch - runs into a K Player directly in his path at the B33.
Ruling:

6) 3rd and 4 on the A40. The Halfback who is positioned directly behind the Tight End in the backfield and is stationary – at the snap he moves in towards the spot of the snap and blocks the Defensive Tackle below the waist at the A40. The QB keeps the ball and runs to the 50. Ruling:

7) 3rd and 4 on the A40. The Halfback who is positioned outside the Tight End (in Zone B) in the backfield and is stationary – at the snap he moves in towards the spot of the snap and blocks the Defensive Tackle below the waist at the A40. The QB keeps the ball and runs to the 50. Ruling:

8) 3rd and 4 on the A40. The offensive team in a formation that has 2 yard splits between each lineman. This formation puts the Tight End 8 yards from the center of the formation. At the snap, the Tight End goes downfield 5 yards and blocks the Linebacker below the waist towards the original position of the snap. The Tailback carriers the ball around end and is tackled at the 50. Ruling:

9) 3rd and 5 on the B20. The Tailback takes the handoff and runs for a touchdown. After the play, the Tailback “High 5’s” some fans in the end zone.
Ruling:

10) After a touchdown run by the Tailback, the Right Tackle commits a dead ball personal foul. Ruling:

Free Kicks

11) The receiver catches the kickoff in the end zone. He runs the ball to the B25. During the run R commits a push in the back foul at the B10 yard line. K tackles R by the facemask at the B25. Ruling:

12) With two seconds to go in the game and the score tied, K tries an onside kick. The ball is touched by K at the A42, and then touched by K again at the A47. The ball then rolls out of bounds at the 50. Time runs out on the play.
Ruling:

13) On the opening kickoff of the second half, K kicks the ball high in the air and near the sideline at the B10. A Deep Receiver goes to catch the ball, steps on the sideline, jumps, catches the ball while in the air, and lands out of bounds at the B10.
Ruling:

14) On a punt after a safety from the A20, a K player goes out of bounds at the A30 and is the first to touch the kick at the 50. After the touch, a R player picks up the ball and returns it to the A15, fumbles, and the ball is recovered by K
Ruling:

15) On a punt after a safety from the A20, the punt is very high and short. The Receiver signals for a fair catch at the 40. On the receivers path to the 50 he passes two K players that are within two yards of him. When he gets to the 50 and makes the catch there is no K players within 3 yards. Ruling:

16) On a kickoff from the A35, R catches the ball at the B3. He runs to the B8 where he throws a backward pass to a teammate who muffs the ball at the B5. The ball goes into the air where at the B4 K bats the ball forward and it hits the pylon.
Ruling:

17) On a kickoff from the A35, a K player steps on the sideline at the B30 and returns in bounds at the B28. R tries to pick up the ball at the B27 but muffs it to the B24. The K player who was out of bounds, returns inbounds and recovers the loose ball at the B24.
Ruling:

Running Plays

18) 4th and Goal on the B10. On a fake field goal attempt, the ball goes directly to the kicker who runs and is tackled inbounds at the B6. B had 12 players on defense… clock status?
Ruling:

19) 1st and 10 on the A40. The Quarterback drops back to pass, can find no one open and scrambles to the A48 where he is hit and fumbles. B recovers and advances the ball to the A20. While the QB was still in the pocket the Defensive Back held the Wide Receiver at the A45… clock status?
Ruling:

20) 1st and 10 on the A12. The Tailback takes a handoff and runs to the A18 where, as he is about to be tackled, tosses the ball forwards a teammate at the A20. The teammate muffs the pass and it is intercepted by B, who runs to the A10. B is hit and fumbles – A recovers at the A10.
Ruling:

21) 3rd and 12 on the 50. The Back runs to the B25. During the play the Wide Receiver blocks D-Back below the waist towards the ball at the B45.
Ruling:

22) 2nd and 10 on the A30. B has only 10 players on defense. On a running play, a B player, who has entered just after the snap, makes the tackle at the 50. A would have scored if the B player had not entered the game and made the tackle.
Ruling:

23) 3rd and 5 on the A40. B has only 10 players on defense. The ball is run to the to the A45. After the snap the 11th B player enters the field. He is not involved in the play. Ruling:

24) 3rd and 8 on the B8. On the last play of a tied game, the Offensive Tackle is not on the line of scrimmage. The Tailback runs the ball to the B4, fumbles and the ball rolls into the end zone. B picks up the ball and runs it to the B40 and fumbles. Another B player picks up the ball and runs to the 50. During the first B’s run, a B player blocked below the waist in the end zone.
Ruling:

25) 3rd and 10 on the B45. The Quarterback runs to the B40. After he is down, the Defensive Back was called for a late hit. As the officials are unpiling the players, the Left Tackle retaliates by hitting the Defensive Back. Seeing the hit on the Defensive Back, the Defensive End levels the Left Tackle.
Ruling:

26) 3rd and 10 on the A40. The Tailback takes a handoff and runs to the B40, laterals the ball to the Tight End who runs the ball to the B5. The Wide Receiver, during tailback’s run, pushes a B player in the back above the waist at the B35. After the play, a B player piles on the Tight End. Ruling:

27) 3rd and 11 on the A49. There is a man in motion across the formation and at the snap he is between the Tackle and Tight End. He continues to a spot 3 yards outside of the Tight End, stops, and goes back towards the spot of the snap and blocks low below the waist against the Linebacker at the 50. The ball carrier runs the to the B35 where he is forced out of bounds. Ruling:


28) 3rd and 10 on the A30. At the snap, the Blocking Back is lined up stationary behind the Right Tackle. On a Wide Receiver reverse, this back is now leading the blocking, runs out around the right end position and blocks back towards the spot of the snap, low against the Defensive Back at the A34. The Wide Receiver is tripped at the A45, fumbles and the ball rolls out of bounds at the A49.
Ruling:

29) 3rd and 4 on the B7. The Defensive End blocks the Tight End below the waist immediately after the snap at the LOS. The Quarterback scrambles to the B4 where he fumbles. The Defensive Back seeing that the Quarterback was going to recover the ball, deliberately bats the ball backwards into his end zone. Another B player recovers the ball with his foot on the end line. A was illegally in motion at the snap.
Ruling:

30) 2nd and 6 on the B40. The Right Tackle false starts just prior to the Center snapping the ball. The Defensive Lineman not reacting to the whistles and flags and seeing the QB with the ball, runs into the backfield and throws the Quarterback to the ground.
Ruling:

31) 3rd and 8 on the A3. The Back fumbles the ball into the air when tackled at the A1. The airborne ball goes toward the Tight End who is in the end zone. To prevent the Tight End from catching the ball, a B player who is also in the end zone bats the ball in flight backwards and out of bounds at the A6. Ruling:

32) 2nd and 10 on the A40. On an option play the Quarterback pitches the ball backwards to the Back. Seeing that a defensive player might catch the pass, the Back at the A35, bats the ball forward to the A45 where it is recovered by another A player.
Ruling:

33) 3rd and Goal on B6. QB drops back in the pocket to the B13. Tight End releases off the line of scrimmage to the B4 where the Linebacker grabs him and won’t release. QB has to scramble and runs to the B4 where he fumbles the ball. B recovers at the B1 and runs for a touchdown.
Ruling:

34) 2nd and 4 on the A25. Tailback runs to the A31 and is tackled in bounds. After the tackle, the Center clips a B player at the A26.
Ruling:

35) 2nd and 4 on the B35. A trails 16-14 near the end of game. Neither team has any time outs remaining. The Tailback takes a handoff from the QB and runs to the B14 where he fumbles the ball. B tries to recover the rolling ball at the B9 but muffs the ball to the B3 where it rolls out of bounds. 12 seconds remain on the game clock…. clock status?
Ruling:

36) 3rd and 6 on the A34. QB drops back to pass as the Tight End is being held at the A41by the Defensive Back. QB has to scramble and runs to the A39. A was illegally in motion at the snap. Ruling:

37) 4th and 2 on the B10. QB muffs the snap at the B11 and the ball rolls to the B16 where the QB intentionally kicks the ball. A teammate recovers the ball at the B9 and runs to the B2 where he fumbles. B recovers and advances to the B15.
Ruling:

38) 2nd and 15 on the A32. QB is nearly tackled at the A26 when B grabs and releases his facemask (5 yards). QB is then sacked by B on the A22.
Ruling:

39) 3rd and 9 on the B16. With 2:04 remaining in the game, QB has to scramble and runs to the B11 where he fumbles. The ball rolls to the B8 where B bats the ball to the B6. The Center recovers the ball at the B6.
Ruling:

40) 1st and 10 on the A22. QB drops back to pass and then has to scramble. B reaches his foot out to tackle the QB at the ankle at the A25. QB stumbles and then fumbles the ball at the A28. B recovers the ball at the A31 with his foot on the sideline…clock status
Ruling:

41) 2nd and 2 on the B3. QB hands off to the Tailback who dives over the line of scrimmage and is tackled in mid-air at the B2. He fumbles the ball at the B2 and the ball rolls into the end zone. The ball is simultaneously recovered by A and B in the end zone. Ruling:

42) 2nd and 7 on the A22. B defender reaches in from out of bounds and strips the ball from the Tailback at the A27. The ball rolls to the A29 where B bats the loose ball forward to the A24 where A recovers the ball.
Ruling:

43) 3rd and 4 on the B22. With 20 seconds remaining in the first half, A is ahead 9-7. Tight End takes a forward handoff from the QB at the B24 and runs toward the sideline. As he is about to be tackled inbounds at the B11, he deliberately throws the ball backward and out of bounds at the B14. 12 seconds remain in the half... clock status? Ruling:

44) 2nd and 10 on the B15. On a sweep around the left end, the Back carries the ball to the B4, where he is hit and fumbles. The ball goes up in the air and the Defensive End who has been chasing the Back, catches the ball in the air and his momentum carries him into his end zone. He regains his balance and attempts to run the ball out of the end zone, is hit, fumbles and the ball rolls out of bounds at the B3.
Ruling:

Passing

45) 3rd and 4 on the B30. A pass is intercepted at the 2-yard line by the Defensive Back whose momentum carries him into the end zone. Thinking that the D-Back was going to return the ball, a teammate inadvertently pushes an A player in the back at the B10. The D-Back is hit in the end zone and fumbles the ball, which rolls out of bounds over the end line. Ruling:

46) 2nd and 8 on the A30. A’s pass is intercepted by a Defensive Back at the A35 and is returned to the A5 where the ball is fumbled. An A player who is chasing the Defensive Back, catches the fumble in the air at the A3 and his momentum carries him into the end zone. He tries to run the ball but is tackled in the end zone.
Ruling:

47) 4th and 9 on the B42 and the team is lined up in a scrimmage kick formation. After the center has touched the ball, the Right Tight End – steps back, pauses, and moves to the other end of the formation and re-set on the other end of the line. The Right Wide Receiver steps up onto the line of scrimmage. The ball is snapped and kicker passes to the Blocking Back that has swung out to the right. He catches the pass and runs to the B35 where B tackles him by the facemask (5 yards)... clock status?
Ruling:

48) 4th and 4 on the B45. A’s punt is blocked at the A40. B attempts to pick up the ball and muffs it the A35. A picks up the ball at the A35 and advances it to the B47 where he throws a pass to the Tight End at the B35. Thinking that his teammate was going to run the ball the Wide Receiver had blocked the Defensive Back at the B35 prior to the pass. Ruling:

49) 1st and 10 on the B18. Under a minute to go in the half. The Quarterback is in a shotgun formation. The snap is high and is tipped up in the air by the QB. The back standing next to the QB catches the ball and intentionally spikes the ball to kill the clock. Ruling:

50) 3rd and 10 on the B45. The Center blocks the Nose Guard at the B46 and pushes him to the B42 where he releases him and stays. The QB throws a pass to eligible the Tight End at the B30. The TE bats the ball forward to the B25, where it is caught by the Wide Receiver, who runs for a touchdown. While the pass is in the air, B roughed the QB. Ruling:

51) 3rd and 8 on the A30. The Tackle contacts the Defensive Lineman at the A30 and drives him 2 yards downfield, releases and stands still. The QB throws a pass to the Tight End that is crossing over the middle at the A35. The pass hits the Tackle in the helmet and just as the Tight End is about to catch the ball, he is bumped by the Defensive Back. The pass falls incomplete. Ruling:

52) 3rd and 7 on the B44. The Quarterback throws a pass to his Wide Receiver but it is intercepted at the B30. The Tailback and Tight End chop block the De
fensive End at the B46. B returns the pass to the A40 where he is tackled and fumbles. A picks up the ball and returns it for a Touchdown. B was offside at the snap.
Ruling:

53) 3rd and Goal on the B4. The Quarterback throws a pass to the Wide Receiver at the goal line. Just after he has touched the ball, he’s hit by the Defensive Back. The ball pops up in the air and is caught by the Offensive Guard who has blocked the Nose Tackle to the B2 and was standing there when he caught the ball. The Guard advances the ball for a touchdown. On the play, B roughs the passer.
Ruling:

54) 3rd and 7 on the B40. Shotgun Quarterback hands the ball forward to the Back at the B44. The Back sprints toward the sideline and at the B42 throws a pass to the Wide Receiver. The ball defects off the Wide Receivers hands and is caught by the QB that has gone downfield and advanced to the B25. B was offside on the play.
Ruling:

55) 3rd and 7 on the B15. With B leading 17-14 and 11 seconds remaining in the game, B intercepts the ball in the end zone. Thinking the game is over, the Defensive Back drops the ball in the end zone. Another Defensive Back realizing that the ball is live, bats the ball forward and out of the end zone into the field of play. B picks up the ball at the B3 and advances to the B15 where he is hit and fumbles. Team A recovers the ball at the B18. There are 2 seconds remaining in the game…. clock status? Ruling:

56) 2nd and 7 on the B30. The Wide Receiver is forced out of bounds. Before he can return inbounds, the Quarterback throws a pass in his direction. The Wide Receiver leaves his feet from out of bounds, catches the pass and lands inbounds at the 15-yard line. The defensive Back tackles him by the facemask (5 yards) at the 15. Ruling:

57) 3rd and 10 on the A30. The Wide Receiver is forced out of bounds at the A35. Before he can return inbounds, the Quarterback throws a pass in his direction. The Wide Receiver leaves his feet from out of bounds and while in the air the Defensive Back interferes with him at the A40. Had the Wide Receiver not been hit he would have landed inbounds. Ruling:
58) 1st and 10 on the B20 with less then one minute remaining in the game and the score tied. The Quarterback under Center intends to take the snap and ground the ball at the B22 to stop the clock. He muffs the snap but immediately picks up the ball off the ground and spikes it. Ruling:

59) 3rd and 5 on the B30. A sets up a screen pass to one of their Backs at the B33. Just as the Back was about to catch the pass he is blocked by a B player. Another B player catches the pass and advances for a touchdown. During the run by B, his teammate blocks below the waist at the A10. Ruling:

60) 2nd and 12 on the A25. The Quarterback drops back to pass and as he looks to throw to a Back that has swung out in the flat at the A20 – a B player tackles the Back. The Quarterback now looks downfield and passes to the Tight End at the A35. The pass is incomplete. Ruling:

61) 3rd and 5 on the B15. The Quarterback sprints out to the right – stopping at the B19 and throwing a backward pass to the Offensive Tackle at the B20. The Tackle runs to the B8 where he is hit and fumbles. The ball is muffed into the end zone where the Wide Receiver recovers the ball. Ruling:

62) 1st and 10 on the A20. The Quarterback drops back to pass as the Center makes contact with the Nose Guard at the line of scrimmage. The Center drives the Nose Guard 2 yards downfield – the QB passes the ball – and while the ball is in the air the Center continues an additional 3 yards downfield. The pass is completed to the Wide Receiver, who is tackled by the facemask (15 yards) at the A40. Ruling:



63) 3rd and 8 on the 50. The Quarterback forced out of the pocket by the rush, runs to the B49, then retreats to the A48 and throws a pass to the Wide Receiver at the B40. Just prior to the Wide Receiver catching the pass, he is hit by the Defensive Back. Just as the passer releases the ball, he is hit by the Defensive Tackle
Ruling:

64) 4th and 8 on the B30 with less then one minute on the clock. A pass is completed to the Tight End at the B24 in the middle of the field. Just after the pass is released, the Defensive Tackle roughs the Quarterback…. clock status?
Ruling:

65) 1st and 10 on the A20. A pass to the Tight End is completed at the A40, where he breaks away from the Defense and runs to the 50 and fumbles. Another A player picks up the ball and is downed at the B35. On the play the Defense was called for roughing the Quarterback…. clock status?
Ruling:

66) 2nd and 10 on the B45. A pass to the Wide Receiver, who is at the B25, is intercepted by the Linebacker (5 yards in front of him) at the B30 and returned to the A20. Prior to the interception while the ball was in the air, the Defensive Back made contact with the Wide Receiver at the B25.
Ruling:


67) 1st and 10 on the A30. The Quarterback rolls to his right and throws a backward pass to the Left Wide Receiver at the A25. The Wide Receiver then completes a pass to the Tight End who is hit at the B25, fumbles, and the ball goes out of bounds at the B28. While the pass was in the air by the Wide Receiver he was hit in the head with a forearm…. clock status?
Ruling:

68) 3rd and 14 on the A40. With 25 seconds left in a tied game, the Quarterback completes a pass in the middle of the field at the 50. With A in “hurry up” and 10 seconds on the clock, the Right Tackle false starts…. clock status?
Ruling:

69) 2nd and 8 on the A7. The Quarterback drops back a couple of steps and throws a backward pass to Slot Back at the A4. The Back muffs the pass and it rolls to the A2 where a B player picks it up and runs it in for a touchdown. During the loose ball B was called for holding. Ruling:

70) 3r d and 10 on the B20 with 4 seconds remaining in the game and B leading 27-21. Quarterback throws a backward pass to the Tailback at the B25. As the Tailback is looking to throw a pass, a Defensive Back legally blocks a Wide Receiver to the ground. The Tailback who is now scrambling finds another Receiver at the B5 and completes a pass to him and he is tackled at the B2. A was in an illegal formation at the snap. Ruling:

71) 2nd and 5 on the B32. The Quarterback throws a backward pass to the Wide Receiver at the B35. The Wide Receiver muffs the pass and it rolls to the B43 where it is picked up by a B player and advanced to the A40. During B’s run – B blocks below the waist at the 50. A has a back illegally in motion.
Ruling:

72) 3rd and 5 at the 50. The Quarterback running the option, pitches the ball backwards to the trailing Back. The Defensive End bats the airborne pass forward to the A40, picks it up there and runs for a touchdown. During the B run, A commits a live ball personal foul at the B40, behind the play.
Ruling:

73) 3rd and 7 on the B44. QB throws a backward pass from the A49 which the Tailback muffs at the A46. The ball rolls to the A42 where a B bats the ball forward to the A37. A recovers the ball and runs to the 50, where he fumbles the ball. B recovers the ball at the A48 and runs for a touchdown. Ruling:

74) 3rd and Goal on the B8. Wide Receiver near the sideline jumps to catch a pass at the goal line. While airborne and prior to touching the ball, his right foot touches the pylon. Wide Receiver controls the ball while airborne and lands in the end zone with his left knee touching the ground first. Ruling:

75) 3rd and 7 on the A30. QB drops back to the A22 and throws a forward pass which is blocked by B directly back to the QB at the A22. QB then throws a forward pass to an eligible teammate who catches the ball and runs to the A39 where he fumbles and the ball rolls out of bounds at the A36. Ruling:

76) 3rd and 4 on the A22. The Receiver jumps to catch a pass near the sideline and lands on his left foot in bounds. He controls the ball and his right foot contacts a B Defender who is standing on the sideline. The Receiver runs for a touchdown.
Ruling:

Scrimmage Kicks -Punt

77) 4th and 4 on the B44. B catches the punt at the B10 runs and is hit at the B12 and fumbles. The ball is muffed backwards into the end zone where B recovers. During the kick an A player grabbed and threw down a B player by the facemask and a B player blocked below the waist at the B20. Ruling:

78) 4th and 10 on the 50. The ball is placed on the hash mark farthest from A’s team area. They send in 10 men for the punt and subsequently they send in the 11th player who lines up inside the 9 yard mark on their side of the field. A does not punt until 5 seconds after the 11th player becomes stationary. B does not see the A player and he catches a pass and scores a TD. Ruling:

79) 4th and 3 on the B48. The receiver muffs the punt up in the air (no fair catch signal) at the B9. Another B player near the original receiver was about to catch the airborne ball and an A player push him out of the way and catches the ball at the B7. The A player advances the ball into the end zone for a Touchdown. On the punt B held at the B22. Ruling:

80) 4th and 10 on the A40. The Center snaps the ball over the head of the punter. The punter races back to get the ball, picks it up at the A15, immediately turns around, and punts the ball. Just after he punts the ball he is hit by a B rusher. The rusher does not touch the ball. The ball goes out of bounds at the A45.
Ruling:

81) 4th and 9 on the B42 and the team is lined up in a scrimmage kick formation. After the center has touched the ball, the Right Tight End – steps back, pauses, and moves to the other end of the formation, and re-sets on the other end of the line. This leaves A85, who was previously covered and an exception to the numbering rule, on the end of the line. The ball is snapped and punted to the B2 where it is downed by A. Ruling:

82) 4th and 3 on the A45. A is lined up in an illegal formation. The punt is caught at the B20 and run to the B48. During the punt, a B player grabbed and twisted the facemask of an opponent at the 50. After the catch, another B player blocked below the waist at the B30. Time for the first half expired on the play.
Ruling:


83) 4th and 10 on the A20. The Deep Receiver is in a position to catch the kick at the B40. As he catches the ball he is immediately hit by the “flyer” with a forearm to the head. The “flyer” was at the B41 when the ball was touched by the Receiver.
Ruling:

84) 4th and 10 on the A20. The punt is short and will get to only the A45. The Deep Receiver is moving up from his original position at the B40 to catch the kick and a B player is directly in his path. Seeing the B player, the Deep Receiver stops at the 50. The ball lands at the A45 where it is immediately downed by A.
Ruling:

85) 4th and 10 on the A25. The snap for the punt is a little high and the punter at the A12 bobbles the ball and never gains possession. Afraid the rushers will block the kick, just prior to the ball hitting the ground and having never possessed the ball, the punter kicks the ball downfield to the B45 yard line. The Deep Receiver picks up the ball runs to the A45 is hit and fumbles, with A recovering the ball at the A43.
Ruling:

86) 4th and 6 on the A40. At the snap, the Middle Guard grabs the Center at the line of scrimmage and pulls him to the A42. This allows a B teammate to shoot the gap in an attempt to block the punt. The punt rolls to the B15 where B picks up the ball and runs to the B45, fumbles and A recovers.
Ruling:

87) 4th and 6 on the B40. The punt is muffed by the Deep Receiver on the B9 and rolls into the end zone, where he recovers and attempts to run it out. The runner fumbles while still in the end zone and the ball rolls to the B3 where it simultaneously recover by A and B, with A’s foot touching the sideline. A had only 6 men on the line of scrimmage at the snap.
Ruling:

88) 4th and 13 on the A13. A leads 21-19 and lines up in punt formation. Six seconds remain when the ball is snapped. The punter muffs the snap in the end zone, recovers, and punts the ball while on the run in the end zone. The ball is blocked and rolls over the end line as the game clock expires. During the scramble, the Left Tackle held in the end zone.
Ruling:

Scrimmage Kicks -Field Goal

89) 4th and Goal on the B6. On a Field Goal attempt, B runs and jumps in an attempt to block the kick. He lands with his feet on an A player who is lying on the ground. The FG is unsuccessful. A has only 6 men on the LOS
Ruling:

90) 3rd and Goal on the B3. Four seconds remain in a tied game. An attempted Field Goal from the B10 is blocked. B picks up the ball at the B7 and runs to the A10. During B’s run, B blocks below the waist at the B15 and A tackles the runner by the facemask (15 yards). Time runs out in the game.
Ruling:

91) 3rd and 5 on the B10. There are 10 seconds on the clock in the half. A decides to kick a Field Goal and it is blocked. The Right Tackle recovers the ball while grounded at the B14 with 5 seconds on the clock. The clock continues to run to 0:00. Ruling:

92) 3rd and 10 on the B15 and there are 10 seconds left in a tied game. The field goal attempt is blocked and A recovers the ball at the B19 with his foot on the sideline. A was lined up in an illegal formation. There are 2 seconds left in the game at the end of the play. Ruling:

93) 4th and Goal on the B4. With 1:30 left in the game, on a Field Goal attempt from the B11, the Linebacker puts his hand on the back of the Nose Guard and gains enough height to block the attempt. The ball rolls into the end zone untouched and with 1:20 on the clock, is picked up by B and run for a touchdown. Clock status?
Ruling:

Scrimmage Kicks – Trys

94) A is lined up in an illegal formation on a two point try. The Defensive Back commits DPI on the play as he intercepts the ball and runs it back for a touchdown. During B’s run, his teammate blocked below the waist
Ruling:

95) On a try, the Holder muffs the snap at the B10. The ball rolls to the B12, where it is picked up by the Kicker, and run to the B3, where he is tackled and fumbles. The Center recovers the ball in the end zone. B was offside on the play.
Ruling:



96) On a try, the holder on the B10, who while on one knee, throws a shuttle pass to the Back who after the snap had move laterally across behind the center. He caught the pass and ran off tackle for a score. Prior to the snap, the kicker had gone in motion towards the sideline as a decoy. Ruling:

97) On a two-point try run that is unsuccessful, B is offside. After the play, A commits a dead ball personal foul.
Ruling:

Overtime

98) 3rd and 5 on the B40. Only 5 seconds left in the 4th quarter of a tied game. The Quarterback throws an incomplete pass in the end zone. During the play, an A player deliberately rips the helmet off an opponent and throws the helmet at him. Time expires on the play.
Ruling:

99) 4th and 20 on the B35 during the first possession of the first overtime session. A is attempting a 52 yard field goal. The ball is partially bl
ocked and rolls to the B20 where it is picked up by B and advance for a Touchdown. Prior to B picking up the ball, B blocked below the waist at the B30.
Ruling:

100) 4th and 10 on the B25 on the second half of the first series. A is attempting a field goal to win the game. The kick is unsuccessful. After the play, the kicker who thought the kick was good – remove his helmet and throws it to the ground.
Ruling:
__________________
F. Shawn Wortman
aka BIG UMP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1