The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2003, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Talking

A's ball, 2/6 @ A33: A12(qb) takes hand to hand snap, immediatly turns to sideline and throws ball to A88 reciever whos has steped 1 step back off the LOS.

Q1: Who on your crew has the call of backwards pass or not and why do they rule on it?

Q2: B55 times snap perfectly, jumps in the air over line, and crushed A12 just as he releases ball as thrown above. A88 catches ball, runs and is OB @ A 45.

Q3: B55 breaks through center/guard legally takes A12 down to ground just after the ball is thrown. A88 catches ball, runs and is OB @ A 45.

Q4: Same as in Q3, but after A88 catches the ball. A88 catches ball, runs and is OB @ A 45.

In Q2-4, give any calls, bags, ball location, d/d, clock ect........
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2003, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 121
Q1: The wingman on that side will determine foward or backward because the play happens so quickly that only he can determine direction. Really only important if the passed is missed - when in doubt: forward and incomplete!
(OK! Something in the back of my head says that the definition of a passer is one who throws a FORWARD pass but I don't have my rule books with me to confirm. If that is the case then the rest of my answers may not be correct but here goes).

Q2: A 1/10 A45 clock on snap.

Q3: A 1/10 A45 clock on snap.

Q4: Here's the tricky one depending on the definition of a passer.
If foward then RP A 1/10 A48 clock on snap.
If backward then maybe PF on B55 A 1/10 B40 snap
If backward and no foul A 1/10 A45 snap.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2003, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 43
You pointed out one of the reasons to rule whether pass was forward or backwards even if complete. If backwards no roughing the passer. Another reason, but not very common, would be if this were a double pass play. If first pass was forward pass interference restrictions on B would be off on the second pass. If first pass was backwards then B's restrictions would still apply. Good luck explaining the difference to the coaches.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 10, 2003, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by nvfoa15


Q4: Here's the tricky one depending on the definition of a passer.
If foward then RP A 1/10 A48 clock on snap.
If backward then maybe PF on B55 A 1/10 B40 snap
If backward and no foul A 1/10 A45 snap.

nvfoa15,
You are correct that the pass must be forward to have roughing the passer.
Your enforcements are also correct but I think you have them swapped

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
“If forward then RP 1/10 A48 clock on snap.”

The penalty for RP on this play would be 15 yards from the end of the last run, auto first down. That makes this A 1/10 @ B-40 clock clock on the snap.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“If backward then maybe PF on B55 A 1/10 B40 snap”

This would be a foul during a loose ball play and the enforcement will be from the previous spot making it A 1/10 @ A 48

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 12, 2003, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 121
James,

You are correct, I forgot that RP would be tacked on to the end of the run. However, we are both wrong for "Q4. Same as in Q3, but after A88 catches the ball. A88 catches ball, runs and is OB @ A 45." It seems to me that the PF occured AFTER the ball was caught thus during a running play and the penalty would be tacked on to the end of the run. In both situations A 1/10 B40 snap.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 12, 2003, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by nvfoa15
James,

You are correct, I forgot that RP would be tacked on to the end of the run. However, we are both wrong for "Q4. Same as in Q3, but after A88 catches the ball. A88 catches ball, runs and is OB @ A 45." It seems to me that the PF occured AFTER the ball was caught thus during a running play and the penalty would be tacked on to the end of the run. In both situations A 1/10 B40 snap.
CO-RRRECT-O-MUN-DO AMIGO! After re-reading the play, I also believe sm_bb’s intent was to have the foul occur after the catch. Good call!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1