The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   This happened at least 5 times in OHSAA Finals! (https://forum.officiating.com/football/83932-happened-least-5-times-ohsaa-finals.html)

bigjohn Wed Dec 07, 2011 02:44pm

This happened at least 5 times in OHSAA Finals!
 
7.5.2 SITUATION C: Quarterback A1 drops back to pass and while under a good
defensive rush, he throws the ball forward: (a) at the feet of two onrushing defensive
linemen; or (b) 15 yards behind A3 who has run a deep post pattern; or (c)
5 to 10 feet over the head of eligible A3 who lined up near a sideline.
RULING:
Illegal forward pass in (a). In (b) and (c), the referee will have to judge whether
the pass was intentionally thrown incomplete or whether A1 was simply unable
to throw the ball close to A3. COMMENT: Some factors to look for in making an
intentional-grounding decision are absence of eligible offensive receivers in the
area and the “dumping” to avoid loss of distance. The ability and skill of the passer
and the pressure of the defense are also factors to consider. (7-5-2d)

It was not called once!

MD Longhorn Wed Dec 07, 2011 02:49pm

Not surprised... the rule says, "In (b) and (c), the referee will have to judge whether the pass was intentionally thrown incomplete or whether A1 was simply unable to throw the ball close to A3."

In most of these cases, the ruling is going to be that he was simply unable (perhaps he was covered too well).

JRutledge Wed Dec 07, 2011 03:12pm

OK what is your point? Obviously you did not read the entire ruling.

Peace

HLin NC Wed Dec 07, 2011 04:36pm

Quote:

referee will have to judge
Guess they judged not.

kdf5 Wed Dec 07, 2011 05:28pm

Are you sure it was at least five times? Could it have been less than five? Are you sure you got them all counted? It's imperative that we know the exact number in order to give you our best guess as to what the guys on the field saw and why they ruled like they did. :rolleyes:

BktBallRef Wed Dec 07, 2011 05:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 802646)
It was not called once!

Just in case you missed it.

In (b) and (c), the referee will have to judge whether the pass was intentionally thrown incomplete or whether A1 was simply unable to throw the ball close to A3.

It's a judgment call. And guess what? Your judgment don't mean dick.

Ia-Ref Wed Dec 07, 2011 05:53pm

Was the QB out of the tackle box?;)

I was at a game where the back judge threw the flag for intentional gounding. Really. He missed the spot of the foul by about 20 yards.
There was no doubt about the intent as the ball hit about lane 8 of the track surrounding the field.
When I was talking to the opposite wing official later, he said the coach (whose QB threw the ball) didn't have a problem with the call. It was that obvious. Except to maybe the R.

bigjohn Wed Dec 07, 2011 06:45pm

Anyone that watched all six final games like I did knows what I am talking about.

bigjohn Thu Dec 08, 2011 08:02am

the referee will have to judge whether
the pass was intentionally thrown incomplete or whether A1 was simply unable
to throw the ball close to A3.



Pretty easy to tell when a kid is dumping the ball 25 yards out of bounds to prevent a sack. I wish they would just take IG out of the NFHS rules altogether.

asdf Thu Dec 08, 2011 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 802844)

Pretty easy to tell when a kid is dumping the ball 25 yards out of bounds to prevent a sack. I wish they would just take IG out of the NFHS rules altogether.

Knowing that both stadiums have very little room between the sideline and the stands, dumping the ball 25 yards out of bounds would put the ball at least 10 rows deep into the seats.

Didn't happen..... Go away.....

bigjohn Thu Dec 08, 2011 01:23pm

Oh, it happened!

JRutledge Thu Dec 08, 2011 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 802844)
the referee will have to judge whether
the pass was intentionally thrown incomplete or whether A1 was simply unable
to throw the ball close to A3.



Pretty easy to tell when a kid is dumping the ball 25 yards out of bounds to prevent a sack. I wish they would just take IG out of the NFHS rules altogether.

Did it ever occur to you that maybe officials view this rule differently than you do? You say it is obvious and it is not called, but for some reason officials do not agree with you on this when they are on the field. That is telling if you ask me.

Peace

APG Thu Dec 08, 2011 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 802844)
the referee will have to judge whether
the pass was intentionally thrown incomplete or whether A1 was simply unable
to throw the ball close to A3.
I wish they would just take IG out of the NFHS rules altogether.

Not that I'm in a state that uses NFHS for football, but really? :rolleyes: I'm sure coaches all over your state are clamoring to allow QBs to ground the ball as they please!

asdf Thu Dec 08, 2011 05:00pm

He got a million e-mails from coaches that agree with him.

asdf Thu Dec 08, 2011 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 802923)
Oh, it happened!

25 yards out of bounds :rolleyes:

You are not a very good liar.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1